Découvrez votre prochain livre audio préféré

Devenez membre dès aujourd'hui et écoutez gratuitement pendant 30 jours
They Both Die at the End

They Both Die at the End


They Both Die at the End

évaluations:
4.5/5 (1,074 évaluations)
Longueur:
8 heures
Éditeur:
Sortie:
Sep 5, 2017
ISBN:
9780062740694
Format:
Livre audio

Description

New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there's no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day. 4 starred reviews!

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called "profound."

Éditeur:
Sortie:
Sep 5, 2017
ISBN:
9780062740694
Format:
Livre audio


À propos de l'auteur

Adam Silvera was born and raised in the Bronx. He has worked in the publishing industry as a children's bookseller, marketing assistant at a literary development company, and book reviewer of children's and young adult novels. His debut novel, More Happy Than Not, received multiple starred reviews and is a New York Times bestseller, and Adam was selected as a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. He writes full-time in New York City.


Lié à They Both Die at the End

Livres audio associé

Avis

Ce que les gens pensent de They Both Die at the End

4.4
1074 évaluations / 82 Avis
Qu'avez-vous pensé ?
Évaluation : 0 sur 5 étoiles

Avis critiques

  • No, really, they both die at the end. In this moving story, two teens are told by a company named Death-Cast that they're going to die within the next day. Seeking some last-minute solace, these strangers meet on an app called Last Friend, determined to make the most of their final moments. HBO is turning it into a miniseries.

    Scribd Editors

Avis des lecteurs

  • (4/5)
    Loved the premise. Emotional read.
  • (5/5)
    Before I get into the story, I want to say that I loved the diversity/representation portrayed in this book. There are people from different races, ethnicities, walks-of-life, social status, and sexual orientation. It all flowed very beautifully and it wasn't forced and there was no tokenism. It's refreshing to see and it was well written, which makes it even better.So the whole premise of this story is that a company has created a way to predict death. Now, each day between the hours of midnight and three a.m., certain people receive a call letting them know that at some time within the next 24-hours, they will die. That's pretty messed up, right?! I kind of get the idea, if you knew you were going to die, you could say 'proper' good-byes and maybe do things you never had the courage to do. But at the same time, would you really want to know? Personally, while I would get a chance to spend time with my loved ones, I would also have to live the entire day with the knowledge that I was going go die in some mysterious, unnatural way. The story follows (specifically) Mateo and Rufus who are 17/18-year-olds and they have both received the telephone call letting them know that they are going to die. They aren't told how or exactly when; they just know they are going to die. Both are, obviously, in a state of shock and disbelief. Rufus had just lost his entire family four months prior and was living with a serious case of survivor's guilt. Mateo is a frail, and paranoid kid whose mother died giving birth to him, and his father is currently in a coma. He's sad and angry that if--when his father wakes up, Mateo will be gone without having had a chance to say good-bye. Their stories intersect when they each decide to use an app called "Last Friends". It was created for people who get the death call and want/need someone to spend their final day with. Together Mateo and Rufus spend their last day in various places around the city, getting to know one another, and helping each other come to terms with their impending doom. There are all sorts of services throughout the city aimed toward "deckers", some are genuinely meant to help them live out a dream or have a few great final memories; while others are just meant to milk money from dying people. In less that 24-hours they become the best 'last friends' either could have hoped for. They connect on a level that most others could never understand. Mateo helps bring Rufus back to life; he was lost after the death of his family. Rufus shows the sheltered Mateo how to live the life he's always wished he could. They are so thankful that they got to meet; although wishing they could have done so sooner. But they wonder if meeting is what causes them to die. So that's the other question, isn't it? Does knowing you're going to die inevitably cause your death? I don't want to spoil the story, but you will be asking yourselves the same questions when you read it. They story was so real (the audio cast truly brought the characters to life). It was believable and implausible at the same time. It was bittersweet and beautiful and sad. It didn't get me until right before the very end, although a different me probably would have been sniffling through a good bit of it. And while it did make me cry (it goes on the short list of books that have), I don't think it was a sad story. It was a lovely story about living each day as though it were a lifetime and not taking your tomorrows for granted. Read this book. You won't regret it!
  • (5/5)
    4.5 stars. I cannot describe my love for this. ?Read and weep.
  • (5/5)
    The story of a world where you get a warning on the day you are going to die. This follows two people through their 'end day'. Highly thought provoking without being worthy or mawkish. It's fun and warm, real and extremely touching. You'll struggle to find a better novel. Tissues recommended.
  • (4/5)
    Heartbreaking, profound, thought provoking beautiful read. Really enjoyed this
  • (5/5)
    It is a like a rollercoaster ride. I started crying before. 100 pages. One of the best.
  • (4/5)
    Heart breaking but utterly worth the read. I am broken.
  • (4/5)
    aaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaa aaaaaaa que livro tristes, porém top show bala
  • (5/5)
    Cute and sad love story. I really liked the ending. And loved Rufus the most. Hope there will a book two coming soon.
  • (5/5)
    Love it...so different from what I have read before. I would recommend.
  • (5/5)
    This book was heartbreaking yet uplifting, and despite the ending very much delivering on the title, I didn't leave it feeling sad.

    I listened to this on audio, and the narration was wonderful. Both of the boy's voice actors did a brilliant job of bringing this story and its emotions to life. There was a certain section that I connected with so much that I bookmarked it and played it at least ten times in a row after I finished the book. I think it says a lot about the writing and story that the words could leave such an impact on me. This is a beautiful tragedy, but it's also hopeful. It's a message about living every day as if it's your last, because one day it will be and - unlike Rufus and Mateo - you won't get a phone call to tell you about it.

    I really liked how there were little snippets of life from the other characters around Mateo and Rufus, who they encounter throughout their day. It really added to the rich tapestry of fate surrounding these two boys who die too soon.

    And those two boys were both loveable and distinctive characters. We only see them during this one day, yet get to know who they are as people. Despite the short time period this story is set over, both boys have a satisfying character arc - particularly Mateo, who develops so much across the course of the day.

    There is romance in this, which was an incredibly bittersweet thing. While I loved seeing this budding relationship forged over one powerful day, you're plagued with the knowledge that neither of them will survive to see it become anything more. That doesn't make it any less worthwhile, however.

    This book is powerful, and tragic, and will put you through a whole range of emotions as you read it. It'll also likely make you think about the way you live, as you watch two boys try to decide how to spend their last day on earth. I'd definitely recommend it if you're prepared to get invested in a book where, of course, they both die at the end.
  • (4/5)
    I literally this book ... so much . It completely wrecked me . My only complaint ( spoiler )
    Is that the romance seemed so instantaneous. There was no build up , it just happened . I loved it all the same
  • (5/5)
    Really like the narrator. The way the story twists when Mateo and Rufus fall in love and how Mateo dies. I love it one of the best stories I’ve read this year
  • (4/5)
    This story is just so beautiful and the interaction between the characters is incredibly meaningful. The whole concept of Death-Cast and living life to the fullest gave me a lot to think about. I will admit that the writing style wasn't my favorite, but the story itself more than made up for it. It took me a minute to get into it, but I was fully invested once I got over my writing hang-ups.
  • (3/5)
    I found the story and the characters very cliché unfortunately
  • (5/5)
    I found this book on youtube and advenchally read it on here and it was great I didn't even expect to be sad cause I knew it was coming but I did almost cry. It's a great book very sad and happy
  • (5/5)
    Had me sobbing at 3am, so beautifully written I loved it so much
  • (5/5)
    I fell in love with the characters after just a few chapters and even though I knew what was coming, I hoped that wasn’t it. Incredible emotional read
  • (5/5)
    A really good story. I loved listening to it ?
  • (5/5)
    Heart breaking and beautiful. This book is about dying, but it’s also about living.

    Beautiful.
  • (5/5)
    Read this book in a day and had a pretty good sob at the ending. Never had a bored moment. Loved the characters and the narration. Beware tho. The sound track comes very suddenly and loudly on the last page.
  • (3/5)
    The audiobook was well read and believable voices, however as for the actual book it was definitely quite cringey (albeit it is a YA so I guess that's excusable). Also, whilst the ending was unexpected I was still anticipating more of a twist but still enjoyed the book overall.
  • (5/5)
    The audiobook is really good!! It's impossible to not cry ?
  • (4/5)
    Heartbreaking and emotional
    Definitely a short quick read that will stick with you
  • (5/5)
    Very good. Very sad. And it was totally worth it.
  • (5/5)
    This book will have you hooked from the beginning. What a roller coaster of a ride ❤️.
  • (5/5)
    Just lovely. Highly recommend, prepare for tears. Makes you rethink your own existence :))
  • (5/5)
    Very emotional and honestly eye-opening. Such a beautiful book, my first 5 stars this year.
  • (4/5)
    The writing felt weak at times but it was a great story. The audio reading is amazing, with different voices for each character! :)
  • (5/5)
    Best book I’ve read in a while to the point where I almost regret reading it knowing that I won’t be able to find anything better than this for a while. The ending was written so beautifully