Découvrez votre prochain livre audio préféré

Devenez membre dès aujourd'hui et écoutez gratuitement pendant 30 jours
Watching You: A Novel

Watching You: A Novel

Écrit par Lisa Jewell

Raconté par Gabrielle Glaister


Watching You: A Novel

Écrit par Lisa Jewell

Raconté par Gabrielle Glaister

évaluations:
4/5 (543 évaluations)
Longueur:
10 heures
Sortie:
Dec 26, 2018
ISBN:
9781508266884
Format:
Livre audio

Également disponible en tant que...

Également disponible en tant que livreLivre

Également disponible en tant que...

Également disponible en tant que livreLivre

Description

New York Times and number-one Sunday Times best-selling author and “brilliant storyteller” (Shelf Awareness, starred review) Lisa Jewell weaves another suspenseful thriller about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies.

Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England. It’s the sort of place where doctors and lawyers and old-money academics live. It’s not the sort of place where people get stabbed in the back 30 times with a kitchen knife in their own homes.

Someone must have seen something.

Newlywed Joey Mullen, for example, recently returned from four years of working in Ibiza. She and her husband, Alfie, are eager to find a place of their own in her hometown. But Joey finds herself distracted by the man next door, Tom Fitzwilliam. He’s the principal of the local high school, twice her age, and devastatingly attractive. What starts as an innocent infatuation soon escalates into fixation, and before long, Joey can’t keep her eyes off of Tom.

Or the principal’s son, Freddie, who dreams of working as a spy and has been developing his surveillance skills by keeping meticulous logs of the coming and goings in the area. And, as he approaches his 15th birthday, his attention — and his lens — are turning more and more toward the local women.

Or perhaps single mother Frances Tripp, who has long been convinced she is being stalked. Her teenage daughter, Jenna, is worried these delusions are signs of her mother’s deteriorating mental health, particularly now that her paranoia has found a specific target: Tom Fitzwilliam. Frances is determined to keep an eye on him until she can prove he is behind her persecution.

Twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam.

Nobody knows why this horrific murder was committed, but someone in Melville Heights knows who did it. As the community’s fearful eyes turn on each other, the question remains:

Who else is watching?

Sortie:
Dec 26, 2018
ISBN:
9781508266884
Format:
Livre audio

Également disponible en tant que...

Également disponible en tant que livreLivre

À propos de l'auteur

Lisa Jewell is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of nineteen novels, including The Family Upstairs and Then She Was Gone, as well as Invisible Girl and Watching You. Her novels have sold over 5 million copies internationally, and her work has also been translated into twenty-eight languages. Connect with her on Twitter @LisaJewellUK, on Instagram @LisaJewellUK, and on Facebook @LisaJewellOfficial.


Lié à Watching You

Livres audio associé

Avis

Ce que les gens pensent de Watching You

4.2
543 évaluations / 24 Avis
Qu'avez-vous pensé ?
Évaluation : 0 sur 5 étoiles

Avis des lecteurs

  • (5/5)
    This book left me engaged, and I didn’t want to stop listening. I also liked the British feel, with words that are not used in American English. Plenty of clues that left me wondering about the killer, until the last few chapters. Then the epilogue was a satisfying closure.
  • (5/5)
    I have quickly become a huge fan of Lisa Jewell! She is well and truly a great writer and weaver of suspenseful novels!
  • (5/5)
    Fantastic. From the first I was intrigued by this twist on a whodunnit of not knowing whom was killed as well as who the killer was. This book though is much much more, with a tight plot and amazing character portraiture I was interested all through, not just waiting to see how it would end.
  • (5/5)
    So good! It was well written and kept me interested.
  • (5/5)
    I loved it so much. I love you Lisa Jewell
  • (4/5)
    Great writing! Although I had things mostly figured out, I looked forward to getting to it each day and it kept me invested. Feels like a good soap opera! Not in a Cheesy way though. It gives complete closure and has a nice little twist left at the end.
  • (5/5)
    Deliciously disturbing and twisted story that keeps you guessing until the end.
  • (5/5)
    This is the best book I’ve read by this author. Really well written. Every detail was perfectly woven together in its perfect place. I absolutely loved it.
  • (4/5)
    It took me halfway through this book to get into it but then a piece of information was revealed giving away the ending. Even though I knew everything that was to ultimately happen, it was at that point that the story grabbed my attention. It wasn’t until the last lines of the epilogue that all of what I had suspected was revealed to be the truth.
  • (3/5)
    really slow (-1 star); the ending is unsatisfactory (-1 star)
  • (5/5)
    So good! Lisa Jewel has yet to disappoint me. I always get into the characters if each book, this one what’s an amazing listen!... or read:) which ever you prefer.
  • (5/5)
    It made me realize that we can accept what we believe as true and make reality’s fit our beliefs. We can Be so wrong and be so sure we are right. Great book. A must read or listen to. Be prepared to get way behind on things you should be doing, because you can’t stop being involved in the story.
  • (4/5)
    Fantastic! You will not be disappointed. Lisa Jewell is an amazing writer. ?
  • (4/5)
    Enjoyable read as is her usual style. Captivating throughout the book.
  • (4/5)
    Great story!! The plot was interesting and only somewhat predictable. It could.have been wrapped up sooner. I've read a few of Lisa Jewells books. They're always a great read.
  • (5/5)
    There was one point where I thought “A HA I knew it” but was thrown for a loop again. It was really good. I listened in a weekend cause I just had to know!
  • (5/5)
    This was really good. At some point u can tell the ending but that's what makes it fun. ^^
  • (3/5)

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    I found it difficult to get interested in. I listened for 5 chapters and gave it up.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • (5/5)
    I listened to the audible version of the book and although i wasn't a fan of the British accent at first, it grew on me as the story progressed. The pace is just right, with so many clues throughout the story that kept me listening eagerly. This is the second book i read for Lisa Jewell that i really enjoyed and she's a very talented storyteller. I was able to listen comfortably to the story at 1.2x the speed and increased it to 1.5x when my concentration level was high!
  • (5/5)

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    I absolutely LOVED this book!! I very rarely give thrillers 5 stars and I was thinking I was tired of thrillers, because lately so many of them felt predictable, but this was just WOW!! Incredibly well developed characters, super tight plot, excellent pacing and an unforgettable ending!! I recommend this book!

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • (3/5)
    It doth go on!!!! Kept yo guessing with all the red herrings.
  • (3/5)

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    Slow going and the storyline seems to stall and become weighed down with the various character. It’s a so-so read.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • (4/5)

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    I devoured this novel! It reminds me of Big Little Lies in that it starts with a crime, then goes back to fill in they gaps leading up to it. I felt like I had it all figured out pretty early on, but was way off.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • (5/5)
    Great Book. Keeps you hooked on and interested for more.