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fosla

Total avg monthly value of orders = INR 9 lakhs


Assumption:
Students in campus = 650 (includes PGDM, PGP, FMB, etc)
On thursday and sunday, 25% students order lunch online and 30% order dinner online. Average value of
order for lunch is Rs 130 and for dinner is Rs 175.
On other days, 10% students order lunch online and 20% students order dinner online. Average value of
order for lunch is Rs 110 and for dinner is Rs 120.
Hence calculating for 4 weeks we get an amount of INR 9 lakhs
Weak

Average number of deliveries handled by flipkart in India in a month = 2,700,000


Assumption:
According to 2012 report published in TOI, flipkart handled 45000 orders per day. Flipkart has registered
20% growth in 2013-14 and projecting 30% or more in 2014-15. Considering the same, we would project
Flipkart daily transaction to be about 70000 orders per day. Added to that, the newly acquired Myntra is
clocking around 20000 orders per day. Hence together, total number of shipments handled in a day will be
around 90000.
In a month, total orders handled = 2.7 million

Weak

Average monthly revenue - INR 3.6 crores


Assumption:
Andheri being a posh area, sales from this shoppers stop store would be 20% more than the average.
National Sales = INR 2713 crores
No of stores in India = 74
Avg monthly revenue = INR 3 crores
Andheri West monthly revenue = 1.2x3 = INR 3.6 crores

Very weak

Greyhound
Total number of students: 600
Percentage of students ordering online on any given day: 30%
Average cost per meal of student: Rs 100
Monthly orders placed online: Rs 5,40,000
Assumption:
The survey done with a sample size of 10 students is representative of all students in the college
Data:
All data used in this calculation was derived through survey of 10 students

Wrong approach

Flipkart traffic for Dec 2014:72485000 visitors


Conversion rate for ecommerce: 3%
Total number of orders: 2174550
Total number of deliveries handled by Flipkart: 2174550
Assumption:
Number of orders=Number of deliveries
*traffic data: http://www.trafficestimate.com/flipkart.com
*conversion rate:http://www.marketingsherpa.com/article/chart/average-website-conversion-rates-industry

Good

Bottom-up Approach
Footfall
Weekday:35000
Weekend:55000
Total Monthly footfall:1210000
Percentage of people shopping for lifestyle products of total shoppers:30%
Number of people entering Shopper Stop:363000
Conversion rate for modern retail:3%
People buying from Shoppers Stop: 10890
Average price of shopping cart: Rs 2500
Sales per month: Rs
4,90,05,000.00
Assumptions:
Shopping patterns of retail are similar to ecommerce
Average shopper shops for jeans/dress
Top-down approach
Revenue of Shopper Stop Ltd: Rs 3,855.41 (in crores)
Number of stores:70
Average revenue per store: Rs 55.07729 (in crores)
Sales per store per month :Rs 4.589774 (in crores)
Assumptions:
Revenue of stores are uniform
Data Sources
Footfall:http://mumbai.mallsmarket.com/malls/infiniti-mall-andheri-west
Ecommerce shopping pattern for various
categories:http://www.pwc.in/assets/pdfs/publications/2014/evolution-of-e-commerce-in-india.pdf
Conversion rate:http://retailstoreops.blogspot.in/2008/03/retailers-counting-on-conversion.html
Average price of commodities in mumbai:http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/city_result.jsp?
country=India&city=Mumbai
Shopper Stop P&L statement:
http://www.moneycontrol.com/india/stockpricequote/retail/shoppersstop/SS51

Not convincing

Kachori Pakori
The Lunch and Dinner options available to the students of SPJIMR are Mess, Order Dabba (Tiffin Boxes),
Order Online and they can go out.Breakfast is generally done within the college campus, either at mess
or in bistro. Hence when SPJIMR students order online, they are either for lunch or for dinner. Moreover
the mess remains closed on wednesday night, when most of the people try other mentioned sources of
food. Hence we have decided to divide the number of orders in terms of how may lunch items were
ordered and how many dinner items were ordered.
Including PGP-2 and PGP-1 there are around 480 students inside the campus.(Ignoring students from
other streams)
The breakup is as follows
Lunch Items
Mess
Mon
260
Tue
260
Wed
260
Thu
150

Dabba
160
160
160
160

Online
30
30
30
140

Going Out
30
30
30
80

Total
480
480
480
480

Fri
Sat
Sun

260
260
100

160
160
160

30
30
100

30
30
120

480
480
480

Total online orders=390


Average per head expenditure during lunch time=140
Total=Rs 54600
Dinner Items
Mess
Mon
120
Tue
120
Wed
0
Thu
120
Fri
120
Sat
60
Sun
90

Dabba
200
200
200
200
200
150
180

Online
110
110
130
110
110
60
110

Going Out
50
50
150
50
50
160
100

Total
480
480
480
480
480
480
480

Total Online Orders=640


Average per head expenditure during dinner time=200
Total=Rs 128000
Total average order value of students per week=Rs(128000+54600)/(480*2)=Rs 380
Average Monthly value=Rs. 380*4=Rs 1520
Clear cut reason for divide not given ok between good and weak
The conversion rate assumed is 4.07% ( This is the conversion rate observed at e-bay. We are assuming
that a similar rate exists on flipkart hence shall be considering 4% Conversion for unique customers (No.
of customers who placed order/ No. of customers visiting the site).
The number of unique visitors visiting flipkart = 18.5 million ( As per Alexa Web Rankings).
The number of repeat customers = 58% of total customers ( As per SweetTooth report on e-commerce).
The conversion ratio is higher in case of repeat customers by a multiple of 5 times. Hence the weighted
conversion ratio is
=.58*(.20)+.42*(.04)
=13.28%.
Hence the total number of conversions per customer = 13.28%*18.5 million = 2.4568 million orders per
month.
The Subsidiary of Myntra has unique visitors of 13.8 million. The conversion ratio is assumed to be 4% for
simplicity. Hence the number of orders placed on Myntra =.04*13.8
=.552 millionorders per month
Good
The total revenue of Shoppers Stop in India monthly= 226.125 crores. ( (From the 2014 Annual Report of
Shoppers Stop)
Total number of outlets= 70 stores. (Shoppers Stop Website)
Total revenue of Shoppers Stop from 4 major cities (Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore & Hyderabad) around 70%
( As per the director's report )
Out of the 70% of the revenue around 60% of the revenue is obtained from Mumbai & Bangalore( As per
the report on India Infoline).
Total number of outlets in Mumbai=7 (Discounting Navi Mumbai & Thane)
Total number of outlets in Bangalore=7.
The best rated and visited shoppers stop are in order= Chembur > Bandra > Juhu. ( As per

mouthshut.com)
The andheri shoppers stop comes 5th with Malad at 4th place. If we divide equally we get = (50%of
60%of 70% of 226.125 crores)/7=6.78 crores.
As the andheri west ranks less than the median we are assuming that the the monthly revenue would be
less than the average. Hence we are assuming that rather than 14.2% the store would be contributing
close to 8% of the revenues. Hence the revenue by unitary method would be close to 3.79 crores per
month

Good

Regal recluse
Dividing eating habits as per duration of day:
Breakfast:
None
Lunch:
Normal working days
Only 10% of the students order online due to classes and schedules
Therefore: 5 X 0.1 X 600 X 150 = Rs. 45000
Thurday & Sunday
More people owing to holiday will prefer to order online
Therefore: 2 X 0.3 X 600 X 150 = Rs. 55000
Total orders in Lunch = Rs. 99,000/- ------ I
Dinner
Normal weekdays: more students will order online for dinner due to convenience of delivery unlike during
lunch hours
6 X 0.4 X 600 X 150 = 216000
Wednesday night : More people will order online since mess is closed
1 X 0.6 X 600 X 150 = 54000
Total Dinner Orders = Rs. 270000 ------- II
Total Weekly online orders: I + II
Rs. 3,69,000/Monthly online orders:
Rs 3,69,000/- X 4 = 1476000
ASSUMPTIONS
1. Total strength of Students at Spjimr = 600
2. Average order per person = Rs. 150
3. Girls hostel being closer to mess will prefer to eat in mess often, wherease boys will prefer other option
owing to the distance.
4. Wednesday night also includes outing specially in groups hence not much increase in percentage
ordering online.

Medium between weak to good

Total Population of India: 1.2 Billion


Population with internet access: 1.2 X 20% = 0.24 Billion
(Internet Penetration: 20%)
Population who do online shopping = 0.24 X 0.70 = 0.168

(Since Not all people with internet access will shop online)
Demographic Breakup of this 0.168 Billion Population as per age groups
Age
0-14
0.05208 Billion
15-64 0.10668 Billion
>65
0.00890 Billion
------------------------- I
Average Frequency of Online Buying per year:
0-14:
0.1
(Parents buying for them; very few cases in select well off families. Therefore occurrence is low)
15-64: 0.7
---------- ----------- II
(Higher in the younger age group and lower in older end of the age group. Also frequency of buy varies
depending on geography, income levels, Hence assume using weighted average a freq. of 0.7)
>65
Negligible
From I & II
Total Orders: 79884000
Orders directed to flipkart: 19,971,000.00 (Assuming a market share of 30% in total e-retail market)
Orders per Month Handled by Flipkart: 1,664,250.00

Link is missing weak

Population density of Mumbai: 29,650 persons/sqkm


No. of people in 5km Radius= 2,327,525.00
No. of Households = 581,881.25
No. of Affluent Households = 58,188.13
No. of outings for shopping (Once a week) = 52 a year
For clothing & personal care e.g. Shoes, Helemt, Reading Glasses, Umberella
Average spend per visit
For Men= Rs. 1500
For Women= Rs. 3000
For Kids= Rs. 1000
Total spend:
(1500+3000+2*10000)*52 = Rs. 338000 ---- I
For accessories like watches, sunglasses & jewellry section
Assumption: Only one purchase per month for luxury items
Average spend per visit
For Men= Rs. 3000
For Women= Rs. 6000
For Children = Rs. 2500
Total spend
(3000+6000+2500*2)*12 = Rs. 168000 ------ II
For Home & Kitchen and dcor itmes
Assumption: Only one purchase per month for home items
Average spend per visit = Rs. 20000
Total Spend = Rs. 240000/- -------- III
Total Spend = I + II + III = Rs. 746000/Total money spent by the affluent families in the areas on products Shoppers Stop Deals with:
Rs. 746000 X 58,188 = Rs. 4340824800
Of this total lets assume that 30% of the shopping is done at Shopper's Stop and rest is carried out at
other outlets in the vicinity
Total annual revenues of Shoppers Stop = Rs. 1302247440

Total monthly revenues = Rs. 108520620


ASSUMPTION:
1. People living within the distance of 5 km will prefer to shop at Shopper's Stop
2. Upper-Middle class and rich households will serve as the target segment for Shopper's Stop
3. Division of Product Range at Shopper's Stop into personal accessories (I), Luxury Items (II) & Home&
Kitchen Range (III)
4. Average spending of women is higher than that of men
5. Variation due to higher buying during festive seasons and low during monsoons have been assumed in
an annual total visits.

Good

Tok Jhaal Mishti


Rs 1,55,000
Assumptions and calculations:
1. No of SPJIMR students
PGP1 228
PGP2 232
PGPM 100
FMB
40
PGCIM 20
Total 620
2. Majorly dabbas, call in from vrindavan/ home delivery or mess
3. However on Wednesday nights, Saturday nights and Sundays some percentage is placed online
3. Therfore in a week, no of times orders placed = 3, in a month 12 times. say 10 out of them is online
4. Assumed 10% of students place order online=62
5. Average order amount(with minimum amount) from McD, Food Panda, Dominos etc = 250
So amount 155000

Weak

13,57,466 deliveries monthly in India(in case each product is shipped separately)


Calculations and assumptions:
Daily sales of Flipkart in India = Rs 2.5 crores
Monthly sales = Rs 750000000
Registered users in India = 4000000
Average online order price= Rs 1105
No of orders placed =Rs 750000000/Rs. 1105= 6,78,733.03
No of items on an average in a purchase= 2
No of deliveries = 6,78,733.03 *2 =13,57,466.06

Ok

Rs. 3.95 Crore

Assumptions and calculations:


1. Annual revenue in 2014(Only Shoppers Stop- Non consolidated revenue) = Rs 2,71,357.32
2. Growth rate of 13.2%(as per company filings)
3. Annual revenue in 2015= Rs. 307176.4862
4. Monthly revenue= Annual revenue/12 = Rs. 25598.04052
5. No of stores in India(Only Shoppers Stop excluding Hypercity etc)=68
6. Per store revenue= Monthly/ no of stores= Rs.376.4417724
Since the location is Mumbai but not in the prime spot--> expectation is the sales would be +5%

Weak

B29
Number of students 600
people ordering online/phone(20%) 120
value of order 150
total value of orders daily 18000
monthly value 540000
people ordering tiffin(20%) 120
value of order 150
total value of orders daily 18000
monthly value 540000
Total value of orders 216000

Weak

population of india 1250000000


urban population 375000000
youth population 75000000
People who are earning/belong to well to do families 15000000 20%
people who order online 3000000 0.2
average number of orders per month 0.75
number of orders per month 2250000
number of orders on flipkart per month 900000

weak

population of andheri 1,500,000


rich people 600000 40%
number of malls 3
Number of people for each mall 200000
number of people who go to mall once a week 160000 80%
22857.14286
people going to third floor because of food court and otherwise 16000 70%
people going to shoppers stop to buy 1600 10%
average bill 2080000 1300

ok

Silent Assassins

All calculations have been done taking into account the fact that students have options such as mess
food, Vrindavan and going out and ordering on phone other than making online orders.
Since most people prefer to go out in a group of 4 or 5 people when they want to have outside food or
order on phone, we can safely assume that no person orders online food more than 3 times a month.
Because there are many who order online even less than a month, we take this value to be twice a
month.
These orders are made in groups of 2-3 people as these orders are expensive and a minimum bulk order
is required to avail discount or to avail home delivery. So, the average expenditure of a student on a
single online order is Rs.200.
Hence, the value of online order placed by a student in a month = 2*200 = Rs.400
Now, seeing the number of students across all courses:
PGDM = 500 students
PGPM = 120 students
PGCIM = 100 students
Order value across all students of SPJIMR = Rs.400*(500+120+100) = Rs.288000
Weak
These calculations have been done considering the fact that Flipkart is used by only those who have
access to internet and deliveries are made only to those who live in areas that are accessible to the
company.
Internet penetration in India = 11%*1.2 billion = 132 million.
Out of all those who use the internet approx. 10% people use the internet for retail shopping = 10%*132
million = 13.2 million. Assuming that almost one in every three such people visit Flipkart daily.
Number of people who visit the site daily = 13.2 million/3 = 4.4 million.
The industry average says that the conversion rate of such sites is around 1%. Considering Flipkart to be
the largest online retail shop and selling all kinds of products from clothes to handloom to electronics and
books, the conversion rate for Flipkart can be taken on a higher side, say 2%.
So, Number of people who make purchase every day = 2%*4.4 million = 88k.
So monthly orders = 30*88K = 2.64 million.
Out of the total orders we can say that 60% orders are of single item, while 40% orders are of multiple
items.
Single item orders = 60%*2.64 million= 1.584
million(1)
Multiple item orders = 40%*2.64 million = 1.056 million
All the multiple item orders can be divided in three categories:
a) From warehouse:
Most of the orders are from warehouse. Taking this number on a higher side as 75%, we can say that
some orders go in different packages and some go in a single package. Orders in different packages are
considered to be separate deliveries even if the address and recipients of the two packages are same.
Assuming, approximately 12-15% orders go in different packages.
Number of orders in different packages = 13%*(75%*1.056 million) = 103K approx.
Number of orders that go in a single package = 87%*(75%*1.056 million) = 689K approx.
b) From third party:
Assuming around 15% orders are from marketplace = 15%*1.056 million = 158.4K. All of these orders go
in separate packages.
c) Mixed orders:
The rest 10% orders are both from warehouse and marketplace. These should invariably go in separate
packages. So, number of orders = 10%*1.056 million = 105.6K.
Out of all multiple item orders, number of orders that go in separate packages will thus be = 103K
+158.4K +105.6K = 367K.
All multiple item orders would be delivered in 3 packets average. The real numbers can be more than or
less than 3. So number of deliveries handled = 3*367K = 1.1 million.
Hence, total number of deliveries handled by Flipkart in a month = 1.1 million + 689K + 1.584 million =
3.373 million. Good

Population of Mumbai is 20 million. There are around 25 different areas in the city.
So, population of Andheri West can be estimated as =20million/25 = 800K.
Seeing that the population comprises of the working age people, students and old age population, where
some visit Infinity Mall more often than others, we assume that on an average every person visits the mall
once a month.
Being one of the largest retail chains in India and catering to needs of both genders (clothing,
accessories, cosmetics, shoes, perfumery, etc.), we assume that all those who visit the mall definitely go
to Shoppers Stop once.
During regular months (when there is no sale going on), out of all those who visit, around 10% might
result in shopping. The average basket size of these shoppers can be taken as Rs.2000.
Hence, the revenue shoppers stop earned per month = Rs.2000*(10%*800K) = Rs.160 million.
The Store has end of season sales twice a year in July and January,
Assuming that the conversion rate during this time increases to, say, 12% and the basket size increases
to approx. Rs.4000.
During this time, the revenue is Rs.4000*(12%*800k) = Rs.384 million
So, total revenue for 12 months = 160*10 + 384*2 = 1600+768 = Rs.2368 million.
Average monthly revenue = Rs.2368/12 months = Rs.197.33 million
Weak

Team guess
Answer : 6,21,120
Total number of students = 647
which includes PGP1(227), PGP2(230), PGPM(130),and PGCIM(60)
Let us assume that a student orders food online twice every week and the value of one order is Rs 120
Thus average monthly value = 647*8*120 = 6,21,120

Weak

Deliveries/month = 2.88 million


Number of flipkart orders per minute in 2012 = 17(according to reports)
Considering a CAGR of 40% of the e-commerce industry,
The number of orders per minute in 2014 = 33
Number of orders/day = 47,980
Number of orders/month = 1,439,424 = 1.44 million
Considering items placed in one order is delivered by two different retailers,
Number of deliveries = 1.44 *2 = 2.88 million/month

Weak

Answer: Rs 96,30,000
We follow the number of customers in the billing counter per hour approach at shopper's stop which
depends on the time period of the day and whether it is a weekend or a weekday.
In a week day , number of people in the billing counter per hour for different time period of the day :
11 a.m. - 1 p.m. = 5/hour
1 p.m. - 4 p.m. = 15/hour
4 p.m. - 7 p.m. = 20/hour
7 p.m - 10 p.m = 25/hour
Total customers /weekday = 190people/day
In a week day , number of people in the billing counter per hour for different time of the day :
11 a.m. - 2 p.m. = 20/hour
2 p.m. - 6 p.m. = 25/hour

6 p.m. - 10 p.m. = 30/hour


Total customers /weekend = 280 people/day
Total customers/month = 22*190+8*280 = 6420
If the average spend per customer is 1500, average monthly revenue
= Rs 96,30,000

Wrong approach

Square one
Total monthly online order value is

366141

Course Number yearly avail.


monthly avail.
PGDM 460
9 month
0.625
PGPM 120
10 month
0.833
PGCIM 100
9 month
0.75
FMB
70
3 week a month 0.75
PGEMP 40
3 batch a week every month 0.75
Faculty 30
9-10 month
0.8
Resturant
Avg. price/Person %age of time
Others
100
0.1
Foodpanda
80
0.15
Shreesagar
60
0.25
Biryani house
100
0.05
Vridnavan/Mauza
120
0.2
Mcdonald
70
0.15
Domino/Subway
140
0.1
Course lunch Dinner Anytime
PGDM 984
3935 984
PGPM 342
1369 342
PGCIM 257
1027 257
FMB
551
1103 551
PGEMP 0
0 0
Faculty 0
0
504
Total
2134
7433 2638
Total weekly order 2134+7433+2368=12205
Total monthly order value 30*12205=366141
Procedure and assumption
1. Total number of residents are segmented as per course and faculty
2. Their monthly availability factor is calculated considering the leave, DOCC, GFT , internship, exhcnage
and holiday
3. Few prominent restaurants are listed from whom people used to order, their mean price per customer is
taken as per the experience
4. The proportion for the restaurants are based on the fact that more people order via phone and
experience
5. People usually order in dinner except during holiday and no class day.We have more than 8 such day
for PGDM.
6. The total orders are divided into three segment. People ordering for dinner, lunch and any time in a day
just to mitigate hunger
7. Online order is usually taking place where discount is more like foodpanda domino and mcdonald

8.the proportion of these restaurants which encourage online order is based on the experience
9. As pointed out people usually prefer taking lunch in the places nearby college on weekday. So the no of
people ordering dinner is 4 time the no of people ordering lunch or ordering anytime
10.It is assumed that on an average 40% of the time student take dinner at mess.

Ok

Total No of Delivery handled by FlipKart in a month 9207625


City type
Population %age with internet %age transcating ecomm
Metros
1200,00,000 0.85
0.15
1 tier cities 1500,00,000 0.6
0.1
2 tier cities 1500,00,000 0.25
0.05
3 tier cities 800,00,000
0.15
0.01
others town 2500,00,000 0.05
0.001
Rural
5500,00,000 0.01
0
so total number of people doing transaction on internet
= sum of ( city type* %age using internet * %age doing ecomm trans.)
=26307500
Company name flipkart amazon snapdeal other irctc/travel
Market share 0.2
0.1
0.15
0.1
0.45
So total number of people transacting from flipkart
=market share * number of people doing transaction
=5261500
Segment
Innovator EarlyAdopter Folowers new customer
Order/month
6
3
%age of Cust 0.1
0.2
total order
3156900 3156900

1
0.25
0.5 0.2
2630750 263075

Total order handled in a month = 3156900+3156900+2630750+263075


=9207625
Procedure and Assumption
1. The population of the country is divided into different segment based on the type of city. metros include
Bangalore, Hyderabad, Jaipur,Ahemdabad & pune including the big four
2. The internet connection and ecommerce transaction %age is assumed based on the internet
penetration in the big cities and experience
3. The market share is calculated based on the fact that flipkart is the market leader and the knowledge
that IRCTC and travelling industry has 1/3rd of total ecommerce users
4. The customers are divided into 4 type
Innovator: who have started transacting internet and using it regularly monthly 6 transaction per this kind
of user
Early Adopter : These are the users who have initial apprehension but now doing online transaction
regularly, monthly 3 transaction per user
Followers: they have started using ecommerce in the last year and so but found it easy and smooth, 1
transacton per user
New Customers & Laggards: They are new customers and started using online transaction in past 3-4
months,but are not transacting regularly,. Expected transaction per this kind of user 0.25

Good

Monthly Revenue of Andheri Shopper Stop Rs. 358,94,250(appx. 3.6 Crore)


Type of Customer Avg. Price Customer %age of total customer
Family Customer
7000 0.1
College goers
1500 0.15
Single earner
3000 0.3
Gifting purpose
2000 0.1
Formal wear office goer 4000 0.2
suits and blazer
8000 0.05
Avg. Ticket size
3225
No of counter it has 14 ( 6 in first floor and 8 in second floor)
Expected service time per customer 5 minute, total working hour 630 minutes ( 11 AM- 9:30 PM)
so expected no of customer to be serviced at full capacity is 106 (630/5)
Assuming 25% service efficiency expected number of transaction in a day is 14*106*0.25=371
so total price =371* avg ticket ( transation value)=371*3225*30 ( for a month) = 35894250
Assumption:
1. The price point per different type of customer is assumed as per the market rate
2. The service rate is assumed considering the fact that at any point of time 3-4 customer is serviced ( 14*
0.25 = 3.5)
3.Service Rate is assumed at 25%
Back Calculation
Shopper stop
Yearly data
Avg . Ticket size 3000
Total space
4500000
total transaction
12500000
Total sale
37500000000
Sales/Sqr feet
8333
size @ Andheri
30000 sqr.feet
Rental Premium
80%
Yearly sale
450000000
Monthly sale
37500000
Assumption
1. Rental Premium is the premium paid @ andheri over the avg rental paid shopper stop through out the
country
2. sales will be proportional to rental premium compared to avg sales
3. all data is taken from balance sheet

Ok +

APP50
Step-1: Assumptions
1) Assuming students of only PGDM course i.e PGP-1 and PGP-2 for the calculation.
2) Value of orders is calculated as total value of order without any discount.
3) The value of orders is calculated taking the situation ceteris paribus, that means assuming no change
in discount coupons on McD and Foodpanda.
4) Including orders from desktop websites as well as from mobile apps.

Step-2: Division of calculation


Total no. of students including PGP-1 & PGP-2
Different online websites/apps from which students order food
Frequency of ordering
Value of per order
Step-3: Calculation
Total no. of students including PGP-1 & PGP-2 = 240+240 = 480 students
Some students do not order online at all and some order it around 5-6 times in a week including lunch
and dinner. Averaging, a person orders online 3 times in a week. So, total orders per week will be 480*3 =
1440. Total online food orders per day = 1440/7 = 205
Different options available online: McDonalds, Dominos, FoodPanda (Mauja, Biryani Mall, Others) and
Others.
The following calculations for the order amount are on per head basis.
McDonalds: Minimum order amount = Rs56, Max = Rs200. Average = Rs128
Dominos: Min = Rs100, Max = Rs300, Average = Rs200
FoodPanda: Through foodpanda, normally students order from Mauja, Biryani Mall & Others. Average
order at Mauja = Rs125 (Min=100, max=150). Average order at Biryani mall = Rs175 (Min=125,
max=225). Average order on others = Rs150 (Min=100, max=200). Grand average of 125, 175, 150 =
Rs150. Thus average order value on FoodPanda will be Rs150.
Others: Average = Rs100
Now we will divide the week in two parts. Normal days (Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, Sat, Sun) and Fridays.
Taking Friday separately because on Fridays, Dominos has an offer of BUY 1 GET 1 FREE, so more
orders will be placed on Dominos.co.in.
Calculating probability of order going to each website
1) Normal days (Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, Sat, Sun):
McDonalds = 0.3
Dominos = 0.1
FoodPanda = 0.5
Others = 0.1
2) Fridays:
McDonalds = 0.2
Dominos = 0.3
FoodPanda = 0.4
Others = 0.1
(On Fridays there is an increase in number of orders on Dominos, thus fewer orders on FoodPanda and
McDonalds)
Step-4: Compiling
Assuming a 31 day month, 5 Fridays in the month and 26 other days
Total value of orders = 26*[(Total orders*prob of order from McD*value of order at McD) + (Total
orders*prob of order from Dominos*value of order at Dominos)] + 5*[(Total orders*prob of
order from McD on fridays*value of order at McD) + (Total orders*prob of order from Dominos on
fridays*value of order at Dominos).]
= 26*[(205*0.3*128) + (205*0.1*200) + (205*0.5*150) + (205*0.1*100)]
+ 5*[(205*0.2*128) + (205*0.3*200) + (205*0.4*150) + (205*0.1*100)]
= 764322 + 159490 = Rs. 923812 per month
Thus, total monthly value of orders made from SPJIMR = Rs. 923812

OK

Step-1: Assumptions
1) If multiple products ordered by the same customer than counting it as multiple orders.
2) Assuming flipkart delivers all over India
3) Taking deliveries from all sellers like WS retails, techno etc.

4) Also considering cancellations of orders before dispatch.


5) Also considering return of goods and re-delivery after return. Return will not be included in the number
of orders but the re-delivery after return will be included as it is a similar to fresh delivery from warehouse.
Step-2: Division of calculations
Total population
Internet penetration
Online shoppers
Online shoppers for the categories listed on flipkart
Flipkart market share
Different categories on flipkart
Step-3: Calculation
Total approx. India population = 100 crores
Internet penetration in India = 20 crores
Assuming 5% of these users access the internet daily.
So, daily online users = 0.05 x 20 crore = 1 crore
Normally, a person goes online for different purposes which may be:
Students/research/official work, entertainment, social network, shopping and others. Some of the users
will be overlapping in the categories so assuming around 15% of users goes online for shopping.
Thus, users online for the purpose for shopping = 15% of 1 crore = 1500000 = 15 Lakhs users per day
Now, the shopping needs can be food, groceries or categories listed on flipkart.
Assuming, around 50% of online users for shopping are for products available on flipkart.
So, users going online daily for products listed on flipkart = 50% of 15lakhs = 7.5 lakhs
Market share of flipkart in categories which it lists is around 25%. So, out of 7.5 lakhs users only around 2
lakhs users will come to flipkart for shopping.
Dividing these 2 lakhs users into different categories for which they come on flipkart.
Categories:
Mobile and electronics = 40% = 80000
Clothing & accessories = 10% = 20000
Sports = 5% = 10000
Books = 30% = 60000
Home/Kitchen = 10% = 20000
Others = 5% = 10000
Not every customer visiting flipkart will buy something. Taking different conversion rate (prospective
customer to actual customer) for different categories, total converted sales as from total visitors:
Mobile and electronics = 50000 out of 80000
Clothing & accessories = 5000 out of 20000
Sports = 1000 out of 10000
Books = 45000 out of 60000, but around 10000 will be ebooks which needs no physical delivery, so net
order is 35000
Home/Kitchen = 6000 out of 20000
Others = 5000 out of 10000
Total number of converts (orders) = 50000+5000+1000+35000+6000+5000 = 102000 orders per day
Total cancellations before dispatch, assuming 5% = 5000
Net delivered orders = 102000-5000 = 97000
Returns: If a customer returns an item for exchange then it will add one more delivery for that exchanged
item.
Guesstimating no. of returns category wise:
Mobile and electronics = 10% of orders= 5000
Clothing & accessories = 40% = 2000
Sports = 1% = 10
Books = 0% = 0
Home/Kitchen = 1% = 60
Others = 1% = 50
Total returns = 5000+2000+10+60+50 = 7120 returns per day

Out of this returns around 50% returns will be made for exchange of product. So, total number of more
deliveries for exchanges = 50% of 7120 = 3500 per day
Total number of deliveries handled by flipkart in a day = 97000+3500 = 100500 deliveries per day
Total number of deliveries handled by flipkart in a month = 100500*30 = 3015000 deliveries per day
So, flipkart handles around 30 lakh 15 thousand deliveries per month.

Good +

Step 1: Assumptions
1. Visitors to the mall are people from Andheri West, Lokhandwala and Versova areas.
2. The value calculated is the actual bill amount which is paid by the customers after any applicable
discount
3. Number of people visiting each floor reduces gradually as we move from ground floor to 3rd floor.
4. All the people who visit the 3rd floor enter Shoppers Stop
Step 2: Division Of Calculation
1. Considering visitors only of Infinity mall.
2. Visitors on weekdays and weekends
3. Visitors with and without intention of shopping
4. Orders from different categories of products
5. Average value of order in each category
Step 3: Calculations
The total population of Mumbai (approx.) = 1 crore.
People living in Andheri West, Lokhandwala and Versova = 10% of 1 crore = 10 lakh
Assume there are 5 malls in the nearby locality. Infinity is the biggest mall out of these and 30% of the
mall-going people come to Infinity on a weekday.
Number of people going to Shoppers stop on weekdays and weekends will be calculated separately.
Weekdays
Assuming 10% of these people visit the malls per day on weekdays= 10% of 10 lakh = 1 lakh
Average footfall = 30% of total visitors to the malls per day
= 30% of 1 lakh = 30,000
People with intention of shopping for product categories available at Shoppers Stop = 30% of 30000
= 9000
People without intention of shopping = 30000-9000=21000
Taking the churn rate of 20 % (i.e. at each increase in the levels/floor, number of people visiting that floor
is reduced by 20%)
Visitors at 1st floor = 0.8x9000=7200
Visitors at 2nd floor = 0.8x7200=5760
Visitors at 3rd floor = 0.8x5760=4608
Even out of the 21000 people who do not intend to shop, we assume that 2% wander into the store
i.e. 0.02*21000 = 420
Total no people visiting the Store on a Weekday = 4608 + 420 = 5028 = 5000 approx.
From this we calculate the approximate number of families visiting the store. With an average of 3
members per family, number of visiting families = 5000/3 = 1600 approx
Weekend
Assuming 15% of people visit the malls per day on weekend= 15% of 10 lakh = 1.5 lakh
Average footfall at Infinity= 33% of total visitors to the malls per day
= 33% of 1.5 lakh = 50,000
(We are taking 33% because Infinity also houses Cinemax due to which proportion of visitors to the mall
increases)
People with intention of shopping for product categories available at Shoppers Stop = 30% of 5000
= 15000

People without intention of shopping = 50000-15000=35000


Taking the churn rate of 20 % (i.e. at each increase in the levels/floor, number of people visiting that floor
is reduced by 20%)
Visitors at 1st floor = 0.8x15000=12000
Visitors at 2nd floor = 0.8x12000=9600
Visitors at 3rd floor = 0.8x9600=7680
Even out of the 35000 people who do not intend to shop, we assume that 4% wander into the store
i.e. 0.04*35000 = 1400
Total no people visiting the Store on a Weekend = 7680 + 1400 = 9080 = 9000 approx.
From this we calculate the approximate number of families visiting the store. With an average of 3
members per family, number of visiting families = 9000/3 = 3000 approx.

Calculating the monthly revenues


We classify the products available at Shoppers Stop into 7 categories Men, Women, Kids, Accessories,
Shoes, Home/Kitchen and Others.
Well assume a minimum value and a maximum value of an item in each category and calculate average
value.
Average value of 1 item in each category:
Men = 2500 (Min-1000, Max-4000)
Women = 3000 (Min-1000, Max-5000)
Kids = 1000 (Min-500, Max-1500)
Accessories = 500 (Min-200, Max-800)
Shoes = 2500 (Min-1500, Max-3500)
Home and Kitchen = 1000 (Min-5000, Max-1500)
Others = 500 (Min-100, Max-900)
Average value of 1 item purchased = Mean of the average value of item in each category
= (2500+3000+1000+500+2500+1000+500)/7 = 1500
Let each family purchase some quantity of items from Shoppers Stop.
The minimum items purchased could be 0 (No purchase)
Again assume that at the max, 1 family will purchase 3 items in 1 visit.
Average number of items purchased by 1 family = (0+3)/2 = 1.5
Monthly Sales:
Value of items purchased on weekdays = Number of families x Avg no. of items bought x Average
value of item x No of weekdays
= 1600 x 1.5 x 1500 x 20
= 7,20,00,000
Value of items purchased on weekends= Number of families x Avg no. of items bought x Average
value of item x No of weekends
= 3000 x 1.5 x 1500 x 10
= 6,75,00,000
Total value of monthly sales = 7,20,00,000+ 6,75,00,000
= 13,95,00,000
= Approx 14 crores.
Shoppers Stop also offers products at discounted price for few days every year (end of season SALE
period), with the discount ranging from 20%-50%.
Assuming an average discount rate of 10% per month on all items, the actual amount paid by the
customers to Shoppers Stop = 90% of 14 crore
= 0.9 * 14,00,00,000

= 12,60,00,000
Average Monthly Revenue of Shoppers Stop store is approx. 12.6 crores

Good +

The Pseudo Mathematician


Answer: 1,35,000 (450 meals*300 average price)
Separate estimates for Year 1 and Year 2 students given the difference in the schedule and therefore, the
time available to order or not order.
Calculation for Year 1 students:
Assume there are about 240 students
Months spent on campus: June, July, August, September, October, November, December, January and
February; Session starts in June and March goes in DOCC and therefore, not on campus
Breakfast:
By observation, students either eat breakfast at Bistro or in the mess or at places right outside campus.
Some also skip it.
Therefore, breakfasts ordered online: 0
Calculation for Lunch:
On Mon, Tues, Wed, Fri, Sat, by observation, people either have dabba, go to the mess, eat at a place
which is close-by, given that there is a lecture immediately after lunch. Even if there arent session after
lunch, people who order in food call a particular restaurant and the hassle of ordering online is generally
avoided
Therefore, lunches ordered online: 0
On Thurs and Sundays,
Days available from June to Feb: 8*9=72 days
Of the 240 people, about 40% would be ordering in groups of 2, 40% in 3s and the remaining 20%
individually
Therefore, number of ordering groups would be: 40%*240/2+40%*240/3+205*240= 128 groups
Now about 1 to 2% only will order online (Mcdonalds, Dominos, etc.) Rest either order in by calling a
particular restaurant, some go out while rest go the mess
Therefore, groups ordering online: 2%* 128=2.56
Meals ordered online: 2.56*72= about 184 meals
Meals ordered/month= 21 meals
Calculation for dinner:
For Mon, Tues and Friday, assuming about 98% will go to mess, have dabba or would call a particular
restaurant and only 2% would order online
Days available: 12* 9 months= 108 days
Meals ordered= 2%* 128groups*108 days= 276 meals
Therefore, meals ordered monthly= 31 meals
On Wed, Thur, Sat, Sun, assuming about 50% would go to mess/have dabba, 45% will order in offline or
go out and about 5% will order online. ( Thurs and Sun are offs therefore Wed nights, Thurs nights, Sat
nights and Sun nights, people like to eat outside or order in)
Days available: 16*9=144 days
Meals ordered: 5%*144= 922 meals
Therefore, Meals ordered/month= 103 meals
Therefore, total meals ordered online by first years= 21+31+103= 155 meals approximately
Calculation for Year 2 students:
Assume there are about 240 students and have offs on Thursdays and Sundays
Assumptions: Months spent on campus: April, May, June, July, August, November, December, January
and February (15 days); Session starts in April, internships happen from beginning of September and
continue till Mid-October, post which students go home and therefore are not on campus till end of
October. After they get back, the academic schedule is light, placements start and almost everyone gets
free by mid-Feb
Calculation divided in 2 phases: 1. April to Aug 2. Nov to Feb

Phase 1: April to Aug


Breakfast:
Assumptions: Students either eat breakfast at Bistro or in the mess or at places right outside campus.
Some also skip it.
Therefore, breakfasts ordered online: 0
Calculation for Lunch:
Assuming Thurs and Sundays are officially off, on Mon, Tues, Wed, Fri, Sat, people either have dabba, go
to the mess, eat at a place which is close-by, given that there is a lecture immediately after lunch. Even if
there arent session after lunch, people who order in food call a particular restaurant and the hassle of
ordering online is generally avoided
Therefore, lunches ordered online: 0
On Thurs and Sundays,
Days available from June to Feb: 8*9=72 days
Of the 240 people, about 40% would be ordering in groups of 2, 40% in 3s and the remaining 20%
individually
Therefore, number of ordering groups would be: 40%*240/2+40%*240/3+205*240= 128 groups
Now about 2% only will order online (Mcdonalds, Dominos, etc.) Rest either order in by calling a
particular restaurant, some go out while rest go the mess
Therefore, as calculated for First Years, meals ordered online: 2%*128*8= 21meals
Calculation for dinner:
For Mon, Tues and Friday, assuming about 70% will go to mess or have dabba, 25% would call a
particular restaurant and about 4% would order online (slightly higher percentage than Firs years as
observed)
Days available: 12* 9 months= 108 days
Meals ordered= 4%* 128groups*108 days= 553 meals
Therefore, meals ordered monthly= 61
On Wed, Thur, Sat, Sun, assuming about 50% would go to mess/have dabba, 45% will order in offline or
go out and about 5% will order online
Days available: 16*9=144 days
Meals ordered: 5%*128*144= 922 meals
Therefore, Meals ordered/month= 103 meals
Therefore, total meals ordered online/ month from April to Aug = 21+61+103= 185 approximately
Now from Nov to mid-feb, students are mostly free, there are hardly any lectures and therefore time
available to order in food during lunch and dinner
Assume about 5% would order online for both lunch and dinner
Therefore, meals ordered online per month by students= 2*5%*128*30= 384 approximately
Therefore, on an average, meals ordered online by second year students per month= 285
Total by first years and second years= 155+285=440 i.e. about 450 meals/month on an average
Average price: Rs 250/order
Total value: 450*250=135000

OK

Answer: 4.6 million


Total population of India as per Census: 1250 million
Of this, the spit of Indian urban versus rural population is: 30% vs 70%
Since Flipkart will be delivering to only the urban areas, we are concerned about the urban population
only
Therefore, Urban population= 30%* 1250 million which is 375 million
Assumption: People with access to internet in the urban areas is about 60%
Therefore, number of urban people with access to internet= 60%*375 million which is 225 million
Assumption: People in the age bracket of 25-55 would be shopping online
Number of people belonging to 25-55 age bracket as per census is about 41% which is about 92 million.
This is the number of urban people in the age bracket of 25-55 who have access to internet

Assumption: Average number of people per household in India is 4


Therefore, 92 million population is equivalent to (92million/4) households, i.e. 23 million households
Assumption: Each household on an average will buy about 10 non-grocery items per month either online
or offline. Since Flipkart doesnt sell grocery items, we are not concerned with these items.
Therefore, the total number of items that are purchased across all households per month= 23 million
households*10 items= 230 million items
Assumption: About 10% of the items would be purchased online
Therefore, the number of non-grocery items purchased online= 10%*230 million items which is about 23
million items
Assumption: Flipkart would have about 20% share in the market
Therefore, the number of shipments delivered by Flipkart/month= 20%*23 million which is about 4.6
million items

Ok

Answer: 9 Crore
Assumption: Primary catchment of Shoppers Stop are the people residing in Andheri West and Andheri
East
Sum of Population of Andheri East and West Wards is about 15,00,000 as per census
Assumption: Affluence (people who can afford going to the mall for shopping, food, etc) is about 30%
Therefore, people who would go the mall for shopping, etc. is= 30%*15,00,000=4,50,000
Assumption: People would go to the mall twice in a month
Therefore, total visits per month= 9,00,000
Of these people who would actually go for shopping=40% i.e. about 3,60,000
Assumption: Of the people who would go to mall for shopping, about 20% would go to Shoppers Stop
Therefore, people going to Shoppers Stop for shopping= 20%*3,60,000 which is about 72,000 people
Assumption: Conversion rate (people who would land up buying)=50%
Therefore, number of people who would shop= 50%*72,000 which is 36,000
Assumption: Average realization per person= Rs. 2,500
Average revenue per month for Shoppers Stop= Number of people who shop in a month* Average
realization
Therefore, Average revenue= 36,000*2,500 which is 90,000,000 (9 crore)

Ok

Blah Blah
Value: Rs 424800
Lets divide our discussion into various batches:
PGP-1
Strength:240
Month-1
In the initial month most of the students had their dinner within campus or went outside to see mumbai.
So we can assume that on an avg only a handful of student would have ordered from outside. Consider
this to be 5% daily for dinner. That would be only 12 people daily. Please note people would have known
only vrindavan and mauja which would cost around 80 rupees everyday. Also note only a handful people
would have ordered lunch. We can assume 5 people to order lunch. And the average order would be 80
per head.
Total: 30(80*12 + 80*5)
Other Months:
Now around 50 people have a dedicated mess coupon. It would be safe to assume that they will never
order from outside but they can order not more than twice in a month. The average Cost would be around
70 rupees for these.The remaining 190 students will either go out or order or will try their luck with

mess :). Let us assume 30 people go to mess. 20 eat outside the remaining 140 will order. Of these there
is dabba supply of 100 dabbas in cams being ordered. The maximum dabbas ordered are from Uttam
which takes 50% of the total supply. 50 dabbas are ordered from there which cost around 70, 35 dabbas
from Aditya which cost around 65 and remaining would cost 80. But please note there are people who will
share these dabbas. Let us consider 10 people share this.
Total cost so far: 50*70 + 35*65 +15*80
There are still 30 people who will have to order from outside. Out of these 10 will wait for midnight
canteen to open and other 20 would prefer to eat something good. Which would be either from biryani
house or mauja or anywhere else. That would cost around 120. But some might use some coupon and
would get it for 60. Taking a 50-50 possibility in this
Total cost so far: 50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10
One day in a week is a holiday for mess. The mess will be closed and everyone has to order. So all 240
will have to eat outside or order from outside. The ones which order from outside will continue to do so.
50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10
Now 80 people will have to see for food options. Most of them would like to go out and have it. 50%
people would eat outside. Of these 40 people 50% would again wait for night canteen to open. The
remaining 20 people would order either dabba or from outside but would like to keep their average budget
to 70. Total spending will be
50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10 + 20*70 + 10*70
Total: 9*(4*(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10 + 20*70 + 10*70) + 26(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 +
120*10 + 60*10)) + 30(80*12 + 80*5)
Excluded one month for DOCC and other holidays like diwali
PGP-2
Total Strength:240
Lets divide the life of PGP-2 in two halves pre autumns and post autumns.
Pre Autumns:
Under this scenario we believe PGP-2 would follow the same distribution as PGP-1 because they too
would like to spend most of the time in campus
3*(4*(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10 + 20*70 + 10*70) + 26(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 +
60*10))
During Autumns:
There are a few people who stay in campus during interns. We can assume these to be 30 people. We
can assume of these 10% order dabba. These 10 people would order a dabba of approx 70 rupees for 2
months.
10*70*60
Post Intern:
Of the 240 people only handful eat in mess. We can assume them to be 30 people. 210 people have to
arrange for their food. Its the time that they would like to enjoy and would normally go out. Out of 210
people 70% would eat outside,63 people would have arrange for their food. However there are few
prefers dabba. Of these 63 people, 30 people would go for dabba. Average order is 70 rupees. Remaining
15 would wait for night canteen and rest 18 would go for something good like 100 rupees on average
=(30*70 + 18*100)7*30
Other Courses Available
Other students from PGCIM, PGPM, FMB etc also form part of our students group. These would be
around 80 people in campus. OF these FMB hardly calls for tiffin. PGCIM does order tiffin at times and we
can assume just 15% people order dabba. However other programs do order food from outside. Around
20% order from outside with an approx order of Rs110
Total: 12*30*(16*110+12*70)

Total Across different programs: 12*30*(16*110+12*70)+(30*70 + 18*100)7*30+10*70*60+3*(4*(50*70 +


35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10 + 20*70 + 10*70) + 26(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10))
+9*(4*(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10 + 20*70 + 10*70) + 26(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 +
60*10)) + 30(80*12 + 80*5)
That is equal to 5097600
Per month would be 424800

Ok

Value : 2 million deliveries per month


Flipkart deliveries includes flipkart.com only (myntra and the likes are excluded)
$1=Rs. 60
E-commerce Market size in India: $17bn
E-tailing business : 15% of $17bn = $2.55bn
Flipkart market share : 26.8% of e-tailing business
Flipkart business : 26.8% of $2.55bn = $683.4mn
Cart Value : Rs. 1500 to 2000
Annual Checkouts : 683.4*60/1500 to 683.4*60/2000 = 27.336mn to 20.502mn ~ 24mn orders
Monthly deliveries : 2mn orders/month

Weak

Value: Rs 57774805.33
Lets divide our entire discussion on 2 grounds. A month with a sale and a month without a sale.
Month Of Sale
This is again divided as per weekend and weekday
WeekEnd
On a weekend we can assume almost 5000 people visit shopperstop. It has been noted the number of
men is normally more in shopperstop than woman. We divide the public in 3000 men to 2000 women. Of
these only 40% population is married. Which is 40% of women that is equal to 800 couples. Of these 800
couples only 30% will have kids, that would mean 240 couples.
Single men: 2200
Single Female: 1200
Married men and Female: 800
MArried men and female with kids: 240
The single men have a poor purchasing power and normally don't plan their visits. Hence are more
unlikely to buy stuff. I have considered them buying has a probability of 50% during sale however single
women is more likely to buy and can have a probability of 70%. But a married couple will have even a
higher probability to buy merchandise with a probability of 85% in sales.
When it comes to buying cloths single men in sales would spend around 2000 rupees. But of these 2200
men some will belong to very high class family would spend in either case. They will for just 5% of the
population which will be 110 and they can spend around 8000 on all itesm on offer. and single female to
purchase around 3000. But females might also invest in leather bag and makeup kit but that would be
only niche segment. We can assume of the 1200 females who come only 10% are from filthy rich families.
These 120 female would spend around 10,000 on an avg which will include make up cloths footwear and
may be jewellery.
Total so far: (2000*2090 + 110*8000)*.5 +(1080*3000+ 120*10000)*.7
Now we consider families with kids. These family have a planned visit and will buy stuff with a probability
of .85. They will have a high expenditure as the average purchase per family will be 5000. But some of
these families might be so rich that they will buy their kids cloths and other merchandise from store itself
that may also be due to convenience. Hence of the 240 people we can assume they buy kids wear of avg

price 800 with a probability of 60%. And the 800 families with high purchasing power will form 10% who
will spend 15k on themselves.
Total So Far: (2000*2090 + 110*8000)*.5 +(1080*3000+ 120*10000)*.7 + .85(240*.6*800 + 80*15000 +
720*5000)
WeekDays:
On a weekday there is little footfall. We can consider a footfall of 700 people this time. Of these 700 we
can expect only 40 couples to turn up. So the remaining 620 people will be single men and women. single
men/women will follow the same ratio of 3:2. Men = 142*3 Female = 142*2
Since its a sale the purchasing power and the probability of buying will hold the same for everyone as
mentioned up.
Single Male: 426 --- (2000*405 + 8000*21)*.5
Single Female: 284 --- (256 * 3000 + 28*10000)*.7
Married people with/without kids (We are assuming families with kid will be only 10% on this population as
they would like to take rest after a day work--.85(4*.6*800 + 4*15000 + 36*5000)
Final on WeekDay: (2000*405 + 8000*21)*.5 + (256 * 3000 + 28*10000)*.7 + .85(4*.6*800 + 4*15000 +
36*5000)
Total Month revenue during sale: 8* ((2000*2090 + 110*8000)*.5 +(1080*3000+ 120*10000)*.7) +
22*((2000*405 + 8000*21)*.5 + (256 * 3000 + 28*10000)*.7 + .85(4*.6*800 + 4*15000 + 36*5000))

Sale on a normal Day:


Weekend:
On a normal weekend the number of people visiting shopperstop will only be 20% of the footfall. That is
1000 people.
Of these 1000 people, men:600 and female: 400. Of these only 20% can be assumed to be married.
which will make married couple as 80.
Single men: 520
Single Women: 320
Couples: 80
Now since its not a sale. We can expect only 20% single men to buy. only 40% single women to buy and
only 50% married couples to buy.
Men who will make purchase: 104
Women who will make purchase: 128
Couples who will make purchase: 40
The purchasing power shall also be restricted here. For single men it will be arnd 1200, single women
2000 and for a couple 3000. But there shall be a luxurious segment in all 3 which will buy irrespective of
price. Now since very few people will visit shopperstop there is higher probability that rich people will visit
more. In men it will be 20% with an avg sale of 3k, female 40% with avg sale of 5k and couple 50% with
avg sale of 7k. The family with kids will buy their products only in 20% cases of worth 500 rupees. Couple
with kids will be 20%.That would mean the total purchase will be:
76*1200+28*3000 + 52*5000 + 76*2000 + 10*7000 + 10*3000 + 8*500
WeekDay:
On a normal weekday the number of people visiting the store is approx 300. Of these only 15 families
might come with only 5 having kids. females: 100 and makes = 200.
Purchasing power shall remain the same and other things also remaining the same
Single females: 85

Single Men: 185


Couple: 15
People who will purchase:
Men who will make purchase: 37
Women who will make purchase: 33
Couples who will make purchase: 8
29*1200+8*3000 + 13*5000 + 20*2000 + 4*3000 + 4*7000 + 2*500
Total revenue in a normal month: 8(76*1200+28*3000 + 52*5000 + 76*2000 + 10*7000 + 10*3000 +
8*500) + 12*(29*1200+8*3000 + 13*5000 + 20*2000 + 4*3000 + 4*7000 + 2*500)
Total: 2*(8* (((2000*2090 + 110*8000)*.5 +(1080*3000+ 120*10000)*.7) + 22*((2000*405 + 8000*21)*.5 +
(256 * 3000 + 28*10000)*.7 + .85(4*.6*800 + 4*15000 + 36*5000)))) + 10(8(76*1200+28*3000 + 52*5000
+ 76*2000 + 10*7000 + 10*3000 + 8*500)+22(29*1200+8*3000 + 13*5000 + 20*2000 + 4*3000 + 4*7000
+ 2*500))
Total: 693297664
Per month: 57774805.33
Note the sale is for 2 months remaining months have normal purchase

Ok +

Devavrat
Assuming there are at least 1000 students at a given time in the campus including PGDM, PGPM
During lunch, assuming half of the students dont have the last class in the morning, as PGP2, PGPM are
in placements, assuming the floating student population and with at least one PGP1 section having a free
session, and order online.
Assuming 50% of this 500 place order online and rest place order on phone at vrindavan.
For the rest 50 % i.e. 250 students, assuming an order value of 300 per head through food panda,
dominos, McD or any other online food portal, the order value is 250 * 300 = 75000
During night assuming the number of students who place order online as 30% of total population, order
value per day is .3* 1000* 300 = 90000
During the Wednesday nights where the mess is unavailable, assuming 70% order online, the order
amounts to .7 *1000* 300 = 210000
On an average monthly order value = 4*210000 + 26 * ( 75000 + 90000) = 51,30,000
Weak
Out of 1.2 billion Indian population, assuming 20 % are internet users ie 24 cr.
Assuming flipkart has 3 crores registered customers. Further assuming 40 % of them visit on a daily basis
i.e 1.2 crores.
Of the 12 crs, assuming 50 % places an order that is 60 lakh orders per day.
Assuming 70 % of the order from the tier 1 cities where In-a-Day Guarantee (50 cities) and Same-DayGuarantee (13 cities) is available, 20 % from tier two where order is delivered in a week and 10% orders
from tier 3 and 4 cities where the order may take 2 weeks or more to deliver.
Based on the above assumptions, the total number of deliveries in a month is approximately,
= .7 * 60 + .2 * 60 + .5 * 60 ( assuming 5% of tier 3 and 4 orders gets delivered in the month under
consideration)
= 57 lakh orders in a month on an average across India.
Weak

Assuming, on an average 3000 visit infinity mall, average that includes the holidays, discount seasons,
weekends and other occasions.
Assuming at least 50% of it, i.e. 3000*.5 = 1500 visits the Shoppers stop
Applying per the 1% rule, 89% visit and may buy between 0 and 1000, assuming an average of 500. So
revenue from this stream is 1500*0.89*500 = 667500
10% buy about 1000 to 5000. Assuming an average purchase of 2500. Revenue contributed by this
segment is 1500*.0.1*2500 = 375000
1% contributes to the major shopping ranging from 5000 to upper limits. Assuming an average shopping
of 8000. Revenue contribution by this segment is 1500*.01*8000 = 120000
Total revenue per day = 120000+667500+375000 = 1162500
Average sales per month is = 30 * 1162500 = 3,48,75,000
Approximately 3.5 crores.
Weak
X&Y
PGP 1 students : 227
PGP 2 students : 232
PGPM : 105
PGCIM : 36
FMB : Not applicable since they do not eat from online order, they inevitably go out to have food in large
groups.
No. of days off for people in SPJIMR in a week is 2 days (Thursday and Sunday)
People go out mostly on Thursdays (dinner), Sundays (dinner) and the night before i.e. Wednesday
nights and Saturday nights. So online order of food is less than other days during lunch and dinner time.
Also people go out more in the night for dinner than in daytime for lunch.
On days other than Thursday (lunch and dinner), Sunday (lunch and dinner) Wednesday (dinner) and
Saturday (dinner)
Assumptions
20% of SPJIMR students orders online for all other meals (diner only). Generally lunch is not taken into
consideration for those days since students have class weekdays and choose to have lunch from mess or
brick and mortar restaurants and college canteens. Average order value is Rs. 120/- per person. No. of
meals is 3 (dinner of Monday, Tuesday and Friday). So total value is (No. of students * 20% * Average
Order Value * No. of Meals) = (600*0.2*120*3) = Rs. 43200.
During Thursday lunch and Sunday lunch, people order more from online than going out to a long way to
mess. So we assume 30% of the batch orders online and orders for worth Rs 150/- per person. So total
value is Rs (600*0.3*150*2) = Rs 54000.
Lastly dinner on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Saturday and Sunday, people eat out more than order online.
But those who orders online order eateries worth more than normal days. So we assume only 10% of the
SPJIMR students orders food from online but average order size is Rs. 200/- per person. So total value is
Rs. (600*0.1*200*4) = Rs 48000.
So total Weekly order of food is 145200. Thus monthly online order of food is (145200*30)/7 = Rs.
622285.

OK
Gross Annual Merchandise value for Flipkart= $1.25 Billion (approx)
Avg. exchange rate in 2014-15= Rs.62 per $

GMV in Rs.= Rs.7750 Crore


Average Order Value(assumed) = Rs.2500
Number of orders handled= 7750/2500 Crore = 3.1 Crore
Repeat Deliveries (due to unavailability of customer, damaged goods, wrong delivery, returned goods) =
5% of normal deliveries = 1.55 Crore
Third Party Logistics to Myntra = Rs.500 Crore
Average Order Value for Myntra (assumed) = Rs.2000
Number of orders handled= 500/2000 Crore = 0.25 Crore
Total Number of Orders= 3.1+1.55+0.25=4.9 Crore per annum
=40.8 Lakhs Order per month
Assumptions:
1. Annual GMV projected based on last year figure of $1 billion
2. Average order value taken as Rs.2000 as most orders are above Rs.500 to avoid shipping charges &
most of the orders are around Rs.1000 but orders worth Rs.30-40K are also there for laptops & mobiles

OK

Estimating number of students in college.


PGDM=223
PGPM 2 batches of 60
PGCIM 120
PGEMP 60
So total students is 523 = (500 approx)
Online ordering is basically for Dominoes, McDonald
Telephone ordering is for Joeys Pizza, Sukh Sagar and Vrindavan
Case 1: Food Panda deals are off
Lunch: Assuming 5 days working hence a minimal amount of online ordering these 5 days.
Mode of ordering Thu Sun
Telephone 30% 25%
Dabba 25% 25%
Mess 20% 25%(food is much better on Sunday)
Online 15% 15%(Weekend deals)
Others (no lunch, bhavans) 10% 10%
For other 5 days, assuming no online order because of the classes.
Dinner: Categorizing in three categories
Mode of ordering Wed Sat Other 5 days
Outgoers 33% 25% 2%
Dabba 25% 20% 25%
Mess 0% 22% 33%
Telephone 20% 15% 20%
Canteen 10% 10% 10%
Online order 10% 5% 7%
Others (no dinner, fruits) 2% 3% 3%
Case 2: Food Panda deals are on (APP50)
Lunch: Assuming 5 days working hence a minimal amount of online ordering these 5 days.
Mode of ordering Thu Sun
Telephone 20% 20%
Dabba 25% 25%
Mess 20% 25%(food is much better on Sunday)
Online(Because of food panda) 25% 25%(Weekend deals)

Others (no lunch, bhavans) 10% 5%


For other 5 days, assuming no online order because of the classes.
Dinner: Categorizing in three categories
Mode of ordering Wed Sat Other 5 days
Outgoers 30% 20% 2%
Dabba 20% 20% 25%
Mess 0% 20% 25%
Telephone 10% 10% 10%
Canteen 10% 10% 10%
Online order 25% 15% 25%
Others (no dinner, fruits) 5% 5% 3%
Hence Total value of online orders in a week = average cost of order per person * number of online orders
Assuming a person orders 100 rupee meal on an average
Given the trend 60% of the time food panda deals are on
Number of online orders in a week (assuming 1 order for 1 person) = [0.6*(25+25+25+15+5*25)
+0.4*(15+15+10+5+5*7)]*500/100 = (129 + 32)*500/100 = 161*5= 805
Assuming 4.5 weeks per month,
Total value of online orders per month= 100*805*4.5= 3,62,250

OK
Population of India = 125 cr
Internet penetration = 15-16%
Total internet users in India = 20 cr (approx.)
Around 10% of the total internet users shop online = 2 cr
Top online sellers are Flipkart,Amazon,Snapdeal,Myntra,Jabong and several other small players.
Of all these Flipkart has around 25% of the market share.
Hence , approx. 25% of 2 cr = 50L shoppers buy from Flipkart in a year( ignoring the abrupt peak of
demand during Big Billion Day and heavy discounts).
Assuming an average of 15 orders per customer per year, Flipkart handles around 15*50L = 7.5cr orders
per year i.e. approx. 62.5 lakh orders per month.
Alternative solution:
Going by the data from the Analytics sites ,total traffic for Flipkart per day = 2.5 lakh per day
Bounce rate of flipkart.com = 18%
Hence no. of orders per day for Flipkart = 2.5*(1-0.18) =2 lakh orders per day
Therefore , no of orders per month = 2*30 = 60 lakh orders per month

Ans - 13,92,000
Assumptions 1. Total Dabbas ordered from various sources = 120 so they won't be taken into consideration.
2. Total Pizzas and other online food orders ordered per day = 180

3. Order value for above = 120


4. Extra addition of the new students on wednesday night for online ordering = 120 and their order value =
200
5. The above mentioned no of students remain roughly same throughout the week. Remaining students
eat outside per day. So these won't be considered under online orders
0
as Shoppers stop is not there on the third floor of the Infinity Mall in Andheri West :P

0
as Shoppers stop is not there on the third floor of the Infinity Mall in Andheri West :P