Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 2

First in India Men

Field Person
First Indian to swim across the English Channel Mihir Sen
First to Climb Mount Everest Tenzing Norgay
First to climb Mount Everest without Oxygen Phy Dorjee
First Indian to join I.C.S. (I.C.S. now IAS) Satyendra Nath Tagore
First Indian to get Nobel Prize Rabindra Nath Tagore
First Indian in Space (first Indian cosmonaut) Sqn. Ldr. Rakesh Sharma
First British Governor General Warren Hastings
First Governor General of Free India Lord Mountbatten
First and the last Governor General of free India C. Rajagopalachari
First President of India Dr. Rajendra Prasad
First Vice-President of India Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
First Muslim President of India Dr. Zakir Hussain
First Sikh President of India Giani Zail Singh
First Prime Minister Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru
First Speaker of Lok Sabha G.V. Mavlankar
First Chief Justice of India Justice H.L. Kania
First President of Indian National Congress W.C. Bannerjee
First Indian to become member of Viceroy's Executive Council Lord S.P. Sinha
First Indian to become President of International Court of Justice Dr. Nagendra Singh
First Emperor of Moghul Dynasty Babar
First Field Marshal S.H.F.J. Manekshaw
First Indian Commander-in-Chief of India Gen. K.M. Cariappa
First Chief of the Army Staff (Indian) Sinhji
First Chief of the Naval Staff (Indian) Vice Admiral R.D. Katari
First Chief of the Air Force Staff (India) Subroto Mukherjee
First Indian in British Parliament Dada Bhai Nauroji
First Indian recipient of Victoria Cross (highest award before independence) Khudada Khan
First Indian to circumnavigate the globe Lt. Col K.S. Rao
First Indian to reach the South Pole Col J.K. Bajaj (1989)
First Indian to make a solo air flight JRD Tata
First Indian to visit England Raja Rammohan Roy (1832)
First Indian Member of House of Lords (British) Lord S.P. Sinha
First Bar-at-Law J.M. Tagore
First Chairman of Rajya Sabha Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (1952 - 62)
First Indian Test Cricketer K.S. Ranjitsingh
First Air Marshall Arjan Singh
First Judge to face impeachment in the Lock Sabha Justice V.Ramaswami (1993)
Fastest Shorthand writer Dr. G.D. Bhist (250 wpm)