Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 4

Paul Godfrey became President and CEO of

Postmedia Network Inc. in 2010 after leading a

successful buy-out of Canwest Global
Communications' newspaper and online digital
media assets, making Postmedia Canada's
largest publisher of paid English-language daily
His distinguished career encompasses long
stints in the publishing business, professional
sports management and politics, for more than
51 years and still going strong.
He entered politics in the Borough of North
York in 1964 and later held the position of
Metro Chairman for four terms - a record 11
In 1984, Paul left politics to become
Publisher and CEO of the Toronto Sun and was
later President and CEO of the Toronto Sun
Publishing Corp. and President and CEO. of
Sun Media Corp. He was also President and
CEO of the National Post.
He subsequently was appointed President and
CEO of the Toronto Blue Jays, after realizing
his dream of bringing a Major League Baseball
club to Toronto. He continues to pursue an
NFL franchise for the city.
Paul has received many honours including the
City of Toronto's highest award, the Civic
Award of Merit; the Award of Merit from B'nai
Brith Canada; is a Member of the Order of
Canada and holds an Honorary Doctorate from
Ryerson University and the University of
Toronto's Engineering Alumni Medal. In 2010,
he received Ontario's highest honour, the Order
of Ontario.
He currently serves on the boards of RioCan
Real Estate Investment Trust, Cargojet Income
Fund and Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care.
Paul is married to artist, Gina Godfrey, with
whom he founded the Herbie Fund in 1979.
They have three sons, Rob, Noah and Jay, seven
granddaughters and one grandson.

Peter M ansbridge is the chief correspondent of

CBC News and anchors CBC's flagship nightly
news program, The National, and all CBC News
specials. He is also host of CBC News
Network's Mansbridge: One on One .
He began his career in 1968 in Fort Churchill,
Manitoba, where he helped develop CBC
Radio's news service to Northern Canada. In
1971, he moved to Winnipeg as a reporter for
CBC Radio, and in 1972 joined CBC
Television. He became The National's reporter
in Saskatchewan in 1975, and a year later was
named one of the program's parliamentary
correspondents in Ottawa. He became chief
correspondent and anchor of The National in
In more than 40 years with CBC News, Peter
has provided comprehensive coverage of the
most significant stories in Canada and around
the world. He has interviewed countless
international leaders and he remains the only
Canadian journalist to have interviewed US
President Barack Obama.
During a decorated career, he has received
more than a dozen national awards for
excellence in broadcast journalism, nine
honorary degrees from universities across the
country and has been recognized by leading
universities in the United States and the United
In 2008, he was made an Officer of the Order
of Canada and in 2009 he was named
Chancellor of Mount Allison University in New
A keen golfer, Peter is an Overseas Member
of Cruden Bay Golf Club in Aberdeenshire,
Scotland, and plays there with son Will as often
as possible.
He was born in London, England, in 1948
and resides in Stratford, Ontario.

Aa NnIiGgHhTt TtOo RrEeMmEeMmBbEeRr!

Canadian News Hall of Fame Gala

5:30 - 6:30: Reception

6:45: Welcome

7: 00: Introduction of Paul Godfrey
by Rod Phillips
Induction Ceremony

7:30: Dinner
Mushroom Puree Soup
Prime Rib with Yorkshire
Creme Caramel
Coffee or Tea

8:30: Introduction of Peter Mansbridge
by Brian Stewart
Induction Ceremony

Special Presentation to Honorees

Acknowledgement of Platinum Sponsors:
Friends of Paul Godfrey, Friends of Peter Mansbridge,
Canaccord Genuity Corp., Goodmans LLP,
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Morneau Shepell
Wine Sponsor: Colio Estate Winery
Scotch Sponsor: The Glenfiddich ~ PMA Canada
Toronto Press & Media Club
President Ed Patrick
Directors: Sean Franklin, Robert Statton, Steve Williams

Canadian News Hall of Fame

Arthur Ford, London
Gerard Filion, Montreal
*John W. Dafoe, Winnipeg

I.Norman Smith, Ottawa
Len Norris, Vancouver
Harry J. Boyle, Toronto

Richard J. Doyle, Chatham, Ont
Clyde Gilmour, Medicine Hat
Robert Fulford, Toronto

*Joseph Howe, Halifax
Grattan O'Leary, Ottawa
Ralph Allen, Toronto

*Oliver Asselin, Montreal
Helen Allen, Toronto James A.
(Jim) Coleman, Toronto
Ken W MacTaggart, Toronto

Austin "Dink" Carroll, Montreal
Peter Gzowski, Toronto
*William Lyon Mackenzie, Toronto

Claude Ryan, Montreal
*George Brown, Toronto
Bruce Hutchison, Vancouver
*Hugh Graham, Montreal
Robert A. Farquharson, Toronto
Gillis Purcell, Toronto
*Henri Bourassa, Montreal
Ross Munro, Edmonton Mark
Edgar Nichols, Vancouver
*Ella Cora Hind, Winnipeg
Edward Henry (Ted) Reeve, Toronto
Charlie Edwards, Toronto
Gordon Sinclair, Toronto
*Andre Laurendeau, Montreal
George V Ferguson, Montreal
James Stuart Keate, Vancouver
*J. Fred Livesay, Toronto
Gerard Pelletier, Montreal
*Blair Fraser, Ottawa
Floyd S. Chalmers, Toronto
Lotta Dempsey, Toronto
*Grant Dexter, Winnipeg
*Dan McArthur, Toronto
*A F (Fred) Mercier, Quebec City
Duncan Macpherson, Toronto
*Judith Robinson, Toronto
Sam Ross, Vancouver
*Edward Macklin, Winnipeg
Bob Chambers, Halifax
*Fred Griffin, Toronto
John Heron, Montreal
*Charles Jennings, Ottawa
Phyllis Griffiths, Toronto
Roger Lemelin, Quebec City

*E. Norman Smith, Ottawa
Doris Anderson, Toronto
Charles Lynch, Ottawa
Norman James, Toronto
Mort Fellman, North Bay
*Martin Goodman, Toronto
Matthew Halton, Toronto
Bert Cannings, Montreal
Roy Tash, Toronto
*Byrne Hope Sanders, Toronto
Pierre Berton, Toronto
John W. Bassett, Toronto
*Jacob Nicol, Sherbrooke
Max Bell, Calgary
Herve Major, Montreal
June Callwood, Toronto
Ray Guy, St John's
Terry Mosher, Montreal
Betty Kennedy, Toronto
J. Douglas MacFarlane, Toronto
Norman DePoe, Ottawa
*Treffle Berthiaume, Montreal
Beland H. Honderich, Toronto
*John M. Imrie, Edmonton
William A. Stewart, Montreal
*Clark Todd, Saint John
*James M. Minifie, Vanguard
Jack Scott, Victoria
*Borden Spears, Toronto
Jack Webster, Vancouver
*Joseph E. Atkinson, Toronto
*Kathleen Blake Coleman, Toronto
Douglas Creighton, Toronto
*George Edwards Desbarats, Quebec City
Peter C. Newman, Cordova Bay
*Oakley Dalgleish, New Liskeard
Charles Bruce, Port Shoreham

Clark W. Davey, Chatham, Ont
Trent Frayne, Brandon
Anthony Westell, Ottawa
George Bain, Mahone Bay N.S.
Joseph Bourdon, Montreal
Eric Wells, Winnipeg
Milt Dunnell, Toronto
Paddy Sherman, Vancouver
Ray Timson, Toronto
Robert La Palme, Montreal
Joe Schlesinger, Toronto
Gwyn(Jocko) Thomas, Toronto
Lise Bissonette, Montreal
Simma Holt, Vancouver
Knowlton Nash, Toronto
Peter Worthington, Toronto
Bill Boss, Ottawa
Mel Morris, Montreal
Jean Pare, Montreal
Conrad Black, Toronto
Allan Fotheringham, Hearne, Sask
Douglas Fisher, Ottawa
*Tara Singh Hayer, Vancouver
Dorothy Howarth, Weyburn
Trina McQueen, Belleville
Lloyd Robertson, Toronto
Andy Walsh, Vancouver
Boris Spremo, Toronto
Les Pyette, Sault Ste Marie
Craig Oliver, Vancouver
John Honderich, Toronto
Paul Godfrey, Toronto
Peter Mansbridge, Stratford ON

(* Indicates posthumous induction)