Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 3



DATE: MARCH 12, 2016

Singapores national curriculum aims to nurture each child to his full potential, to discover his talents and to develop in
him a passion for life-long learning. Students go through a broad range of experiences to develop the skills and values that
they will need for life. The broad-based curriculum imparts literacy, numeracy, bilingualism, the sciences, humanities,
aesthetics, physical education, civics and moral education and National Education.
Every child in Singapore has the opportunity to undergo at least ten years of basic education. This comprises 6 years of
compulsory primary education and 4 years of secondary education. Students have to sit for major national examinations at the
end of their primary and secondary education. Beyond secondary education, students move on to post-secondary institutions
based on their eligibility and choice

Brunei, Darussalam
The school curriculum has been characterized by a collection of school subjects and syllabuses produced by the
Curriculum Development Department and the Syllabus and Textbook Committees. Public examinations, however, are
administered by the Examination Department.
Greater attention was given to the expansion of education for all. With the expansion of education for all, the need to cater
to pupils of varying abilities has become important. Hence vocational and technical education was expanded to respond to
these changes.
The Curriculum Development Department meanwhile is engaged in works which respond to the needs and requirements of
the Ministry of Education in providing education to all levels and groups. Improvements and adjustments were made to
existing subject curricula in response to social changes and needs. New curricula were developed for civics, history,
science and mathematics. Many projects were introduced to further improve instruction and learning in schools. The RELA
project for English language learning and the CoRT thinking project are examples of such projects.

There isnt a federal government controlled or funded state school system in Canada. State-funded provincial
schools are called public or separate schools (which are Roman Catholic public schools), and although anyone can attend
either, theyre generally split along religious denomination lines.

Most children start school before the age of six, when compulsory schooling usually begins, either in a
nursery school or a kindergarten. The maximum 13 years of formal elementary and secondary education covers
education from the ages of 5 to 18, divided into increments called grades (kindergarten and grades 1 to 12).
Children usually start in kindergarten at the age of five and advance one grade per year until reaching grade 12
at age 18. Occasionally a student must repeat a grade due to prolonged absence or low marks, but this is rare.
A child can legally quit (drop out of) school at 16, but this is generally discouraged and the vast majority
of students stay at high school until they reach the age of 18.
Age: Grade - School
2 to 5: - - Pre-school or Kindergarten
6 to 11: 1 to 6 - Elementary
12 to 14: 7 to 9 - Junior high
15 to 18: 10 to 12 - Senior high
Usually a student has one teacher for all major subjects during his first six years of schooling
(elementary) and a different teacher for each subject during the last six grades in junior and senior high schools.

United States
An elementary school is the main point of delivery of primary education in the United States, for children
between the ages of 411 and coming between Pre-Kindergarten and secondary education.

The first years of compulsory schooling are called elementary or primary school (just to confuse the issue,
elementary schools are also called grade or grammar schools). Secondary education is for children aged 12 to
18. Secondary school generally takes place in a high school, which is often divided into junior and senior high.
Junior high is for those aged 12 to 14 and senior high for students aged 15 to 17.
Elementary education starts at the age of five or six, depending on the particular state and whether a
kindergarten (K) year is provided. Even when provided, attendance at kindergarten isnt always compulsory. To
qualify for kindergarten a child must be five years old on or before a cut-off date, e.g. 1st September or
October, to attend that year. Usually a child must be enrolled in kindergarten or first grade in the calendar year
in which he turns six. Elementary school, which is almost always co-educational (mixed boys and girls), is
usually attended from the age of 5 or 6 until 11 (grades K to 6), when students go on to a middle or junior high
school. In some districts, students attend elementary school until 13 (up to grade 8) before attending a senior
high school.

Preschool education usually lasts for 2 years, before they proceed to primary school at age 7. There is no
formal preschool curriculum except a formal mandatory training and certification for principals and teachers
before they may operate a preschool.
Primary education in Malaysia begins at age seven and lasts for six years, referred to as Year (Tahun) 1 to
6 (also known as Standard (Darjah) 1 to 6). Year 1 to Year 3 are classified as Level One (Tahap Satu) while
Year 4 to Year 6 are considered as Level Two (Tahap Dua). Students are promoted to the next year regardless of
their academic performance.
From 1996 until 2000, the Penilaian Tahap Satu (PTS) or the Level One Evaluation was administered to
Year 3 students. Excellence in this test allowed students to skip Year 4 and attend Year 5 instead. However, the
test was removed from 2001 onwards due to concerns that parents and teachers were unduly pressuring students
to pass the exam.
Before progressing to secondary education, Year 6 pupils sit for the Primary School Achievement Test. The
subjects tested are Malay comprehension, written Malay, English, Science and Mathematics. In addition to the
five subjects, Chinese comprehension and written Chinese are compulsory in Chinese schools, while Tamil
comprehension and written Tamil are compulsory in Tamil schools.

Overview of School Education
A. School Ladder System
Korea has a single-track 6-3-3-4 system which maintains a single line of school levels in order to ensure that
every citizen can receive primary, secondary, and tertiary education without discrimination and according to the
ability of each student.
The existing education act was replaced by the Basic Education Act, the Primary and Secondary Education Act,
and the Higher Education Act in 1998. The Primary and Secondary Education Act covers education issues
dealing with pre-school, primary and secondary education while the Higher Education Act pertains to matters
related to higher education.
Article 9 of the Basic Education Act stipulates that "Schools shall be established to provide preschool, primary,
secondary and higher education." According to Article 2 of the Primary and Secondary Education Act, "The
following types of schools shall be established for preschool, primary and secondary education."
1) Kindergartens
2) Primary Schools, Civic Schools
3) Middle Schools, Civic High Schools

4) High Schools, Trade High Schools

5) Special Schools
6) Miscellaneous Schools.

The K to 12 Program covers Kindergarten and 12 years of basic education (six years of primary education,
four years of Junior High School, and two years of Senior High School [SHS]) to provide sufficient time for
mastery of concepts and skills, develop lifelong learners, and prepare graduates for tertiary education, middle-

level skills development, employment, and entrepreneurship.

There are seven Learning Areas under the Core Curriculum. These are Languages, Literature, Communication,
Mathematics, Philosophy, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences. Current content from some General Education
subjects are embedded in the SHS curriculum.