Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 9


Sagun & Nirgun


Muladhar Aasan

Asan (in outer world) supports and represents muladhar

chakra (of inner world) of the sadhak. On this we install both
the yantras. One yantra is the body which is a vehicle for
travelling into the inner world and another is the energized
yantra pertaining to a sadhna system which also is installed
over an asana on the altar. Mostly, an asana will have four
sides indicating flow of energy in all four directions, also
indicated in most of the geometric yantras. Thus, Muladhar is
depicted by a four-petal lotus flower. Both, asan and
muladhar chakra are connected to the earth element.

Swadhishthan Kalash

Kalash (in outer world) represents swadhishthan chakra (of

inner world). It contains water sanctified by panch-dhatu
(virya), pancha-aushadhi (ooj) and panch-pallav (indriyas). A
kalash is installed on an ashtadal kamal. Swadhisthan chakra
too contains water in elemental form, is depicted by a eightpetal lotus and is connected to the reproductive center of
human body which maintains health, virility and sensual
control. A coconut over the kalash represents the head (ego).
During sadhna anushthan, we must ground all our senses,
indicated through kalash sthapan.

Manipur Deep (Agni)

Deep (in outer world) represents manipur chakra (of inner

world). Both possess the fire element. The light generated
through fire emanates towards all ten directions i.e., East
(poorva), South-East (agneya), South (dakshin), South-West
(nairut), West (pashchim), North-West (vayavya), North
(uttar), North-East (eshaan), Upwards (urdhwa) and
Downwards (adman). Manipur chakra is depicted by a tenpetal lotus.

Anahat Gandha-Dhup

Gandha-Dhup (in outer world) represents anahat chakra (of

inner world). Dhup and gandha purifies air around the sadhak
creating a reverential state of mind that is conducive for inner
journey. It nurtures the emotive side of a sadhak, blossoming
through bhaav and bhakti. Both are associated with the air
element and is depicted by a fourteen-petal lotus.

Vishuddha Mantra

Mantra (in outer world) represents vishuddha chakra (of inner

world). When chanted through vaikhari, a mantra comes out
from the throat which is seat of this chakra. Mantras are
combination of consonants activated through vowels. Without
vowels, consonants are powerless. These vowels are called
matrikas (mothers or matras of grammar). Vowels are sixteen
in number depicted by a sixteen-petal lotus at the vishuddha
chakra. A mantra travels at an etheric speed through ether,
thus, representing the aakash tatva (space element).

Agnya Breath

Breath (in outer world) represents agnya chakra (of inner

world). During sadhna, Ida, Pingala & Sushumna nadis are
activated by symmetric flow of breath through both nostrils
with single-pointed focus at their confluence in between the
eyebrows. This is depicted by a two-petal lotus at agnya
chakra. Left nostril is Ida (passivity) and right is Pingla
(activity), indicates that life is a balance between two opposite
states of existence and when achieved, initiates a third force
(Sushumna) that is a doorway into the extra sensory realm.

Sahasrar Ishta (Deity)

Ishta or Deity (in outer world) represents sahasrar chakra (of

inner world). The goal of sadhna is to establish a communion
with the supreme, whether we prefer to consider it as our
Ishta or Guru or an Impersonal godhead. This often is
expressed by putting up a symbolic representation on our altar
which could be a chitra (picture) or a vigraha (idol) or a
holy text. This final destination of our spiritual journey is
depicted by a thousand-petal lotus.

Inner and Outer Connections

A Sagun-Sakar sadhna system is considered to be successful

when a communion is established with the Godhead in its
attributed form. Whereas, success of a Nirgun-Nirakar sadhna
system is considered to be successful when a communion is
established with the Godhead in its attribute-less form.
Nevertheless, both the systems are only designed to suit the
temperament of a variety of sadhaks while moving towards
the same goal. The elements that a sagun-sakar sadhak deals
with is similar to that of a sadhak working through nirgunnirakar system.
The final transformation is SAME though its outer
expression may appear to be different.
Hari Om Tat Sat !!!