Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 2


22 November 2017

The Africa Group for Justice and Accountability Applauds Citizens of Zimbabwe,
Offers Support and Assistance

Following the resignation of Robert Mugabe on 21 November 2017, the Africa Group for
Justice and Accountability (AGJA) applauds the continued resolve of the people of Zimbabwe
and their demonstrated commitment to democracy and the rule of law. The AGJA also com-
mends all relevant actors who have played a pivotal role in ensuring that the country has
remained peaceful during this time of political uncertainty.

We stand in solidarity with the people of Zimbabwe and their inspirational vision of a demo-
cratic nation that respects the rule of law and guarantees the rights of all of its citizens, the
Africa Group members stated. As Zimbabwe turns a page in its history, we look forward to a
nation that offers full respect for democracy, justice and human rights. In line with the Kiliman-
jaro Principles, we are prepared and ready to offer any and all support and assistance to
Zimbabwean authorities and institutions with regards to the achievement of justice and account-
ability in the country.

At the core of the AGJAs work are its efforts to enhance the capacity of domestic states to
investigate and prosecute international as well as transnational and organized crimes. The
AGJA is currently engaged in capacity-building initiatives in Nigeria, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda,
and Tanzania. Most recently, the AGJA sent a delegation to The Gambia to consult with the
government, international stakeholders, and civil society on matters of justice and accountability
during the countrys ongoing transition.

The Africa Group for Justice and Accountability comprises senior African experts on interna-
tional criminal law and human rights, including political figures, members of international and
domestic tribunals, and human rights advocates:
Dapo Akande (Nigeria), Professor of Public International Law, University of Oxford
Femi Falana (Nigeria), Human rights activist and lawyer
Hassan Bubacar Jallow (Gambia), Chief Justice of the Gambia, former Prosecutor
at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and International Residual Mecha-
nism for Criminal Tribunals
Richard Goldstone (South Africa), Former Chief Prosecutor of the United Nations
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia
Tiyanjana Maluwa (Malawi), H. Laddie Montague Chair in Law, Pennsylvania
State University School of Law; Former Associate Dean for International Affairs, School
of Law & Director, School of International Affairs
Athaliah Molokomme (Botswana), Ambassador and Permanent Representative
of Botswana to Switzerland and the UN Office in Geneva, and former Attorney-Gen-
eral of Botswana
Betty Kaari Murungi (Kenya), Senior Advisor on Transitional Justice to the Joint
Monitoring and evaluation commission (JMEC)
Mohamed Chande Othman (Tanzania), Former Chief Justice of Tanzania
Navi Pillay (South Africa), Former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
Catherine Samba-Panza (Central African Republic), Former Transitional Presi-
dent of the Central African Republic
Fatiha Serour (Algeria), Director of Serour Associates for Inclusion and Equity
Abdul Tejan-Cole (Sierra Leone), Executive Director of the Open Society Initiative
for West Africa