Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 7


Source: ​https://articlesforwebsite.com/indian-paralympic-players/


Like the Olympics, Paralympics are the games which is participated
and represented many countries but Paralympics can only be played by
disabled persons or by physically challenged persons.
Paralympics are opportunities for those who are physically challenged but
want to participate in sports and represent their country. Every person has
a dream of representing their country in their favorite sports and the
Olympics and Paralympics are the highest goals for them.
Some of the Indian Paralympic Players who made India proud are:

1. ​Deepa Malik
Deepa Malik​, first Indian woman to win a medal in ​Paralympics​, won silver
medal in the shot put in Summer Paralympics, 2016 and also honored with
Arjuna Award and Padma Shri. Not only shot put, she also won medals in
javelin throw and discus throw and had made her name at the top for all 3

2. Mariyappan Thangavelu
Mariyappan Thangavelu, India's first Paralympian gold medallist in the
men's high jump since 2004. He is also honored with Arjuna and Padma
Shri Award. He also got prize money of ​₹2 crore from the Govt. Of Tamil
Nadu, ₹75 lakh from Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports and ₹50 lakh from
Govt. of Madhya Pradesh.

3. Devendra Jhajharia
Devendra Jhajharia, the first Indian to win 2 gold medals at the
Paralympics, won his first gold medal in the javelin throw in Summer
Paralympics in 2004 and second in 2016.
He is honored with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Padma Shri, and Arjuna
Award and became the FICCI Para -Sportsperson of the Year​.
4. Rajinder Singh Rahelu
Rajinder Singh Rahelu won a bronze medal in Summer Paralympics, 2004
in powerlifting in the 56kg category. He is also the recipient of the Arjuna
Award and represented India at the 2008 Summer Paralympics in Beijing
and 2012 Summer Paralympics in London.

5. Malathi Krishnamurthy Holla

Malathi Krishnamurthy Holla, born on 6 July 1968 in Bangalore won more

than 428 medals and also honored with Arjuna Award and Padma Shri
Award. She had suffered from 34 surgeries and works as a manager in
Syndicate Bank and shelter 16 children from her foundation.
6. Girisha Nagarajegowda
Girish N. Gowda, born with a disability in his left leg and is a
paralympic high jumper from India. He has represented India and won
a silver medal in Summer Paralympics, 2012 in London.

7. Murlikant Petkar
Murlikant Petkar, swimmer and a javelin thrower and India’s first
Paralympian gold medalist. He also set a world record in swimming and
won an individual gold medal in the 1972 Summer Paralympics. He was
also awarded with Padma Shri and 3 times finalist in Javelin events.
8. Suyash Jadhav
Suyash Jadhav, an Indian Para swimmer, and the only Indian Para Indian
swimmer who has achieved the ‘A’ qualifying mark in the 2016 Summer
Paralympics. He was born in Solapur and started swimming at an early age
as his father was a national level swimmer.

9. Varun Singh Bhati

Varun Singh Bhati was afflicted by Poliomyelitis at a very young age but
because of his interest in sports from school days, he joined sports. He had
won many medals in international events and bronze at the 2016 Summer
Paralympic Games.
He was honored with Arjuna Award on 29 August 2018, also voted as
Para-athlete of the year 2017.

10. Rinku Hooda

Rinku Hooda is a javelin thrower and represented India at the 2016

Summer Paralympics. He is only 17 years old and ranked fourth in 2016
Summer Paralympics.