Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 4


Working together to deliver a Single European Sky


Founded in 1960, today EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, is a civil-military organisation committed to building, together with its partners, a Single European Sky that will deliver the air traffic management (ATM) performance required for the twenty-first century and beyond.

EUROCONTROL Member States European Union States

Finland Norway Sweden Estonia

Latvia Denmark Lithuania

EUROCONTROL is uniquely qualified to help make the Single European Sky a reality:

United Kingdom Netherlands Germany Belgium Luxembourg Czech Republic Slovakia Switzerland Austria Hungary Slovenia Monaco Croatia Bosnia and Herzegovina Italy Romania Moldova Ukraine Poland

its 39 Member States provide a truly panEuropean perspective; its technical expertise is unrivalled and covers both the operational and regulatory elements; can advise on both the civil and the military aspects of ATM; has real experience at bringing States with different needs together for a common goal; has recently restructured the Agency to make sure its activities are tailored towards working with the EU on the Single European Sky.
Portugal Spain


Serbia Bulgaria


Montenegro FYROM Albania Greece


Malta Cyprus

EUROCONTROL is an intergovernmental organisation with 39 Member States. The European Community signed an Accession Protocol in 2002. Member States include all of the EU States, with the exception of Estonia.

EUROCONTROL is an intergovernmental organisation, driven by its Member States (civil and military authorities). However, it also aims to ensure that the interests of all aviation stakeholders are represented in its decision-making process.


Consequently, airspace users, air navigation service providers and airports are now fully involved in steering the Agencys efforts to help create the Single European Sky.

Performance Review Commission

Committee of Management

Civil/Military Interface Standing Committee



Safety Regulation Commission

Standing Committee on Finance

Enlarged Committee for Route Charges

Audit Board

Air Navigation Services Board

AGENCY Director General D. McMillan

Military ATM Board

Advisory and Consultative Bodies Director Generals Office

Directorate of Resources
A. Varano

ATM Policy Bureau

B. Redeborn

Maastricht Upper Area Control Centre

K.H. Kloos

Directorate Network Management

J. Dopagne

Directorate Central Route Charges Office

A. Heerbaart

Directorate SESAR & Research

B. Redeborn

Directorate Single Sky

L. Tytgat

A NEW ORGANISATION STRUCTURE to better serve the European aviation community

The European ATM environment is undergoing significant changes. In order to improve the way it meets the needs of all its 39 Member States and to contribute more actively to the successful delivery of the Single European Sky, EUROCONTROL has reorganised its activities around five main functions:

Directorate Single Sky:

delivers the Agencys contribution to the implementation of the Single European Sky, supporting all EUROCONTROL Member States, the European Commission (EC) and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). The Directorate deals with support to network oversight, regulatory support, performance review, environmental support as well as civil-military coordination.

Maastricht Upper Area Control Centre (MUAC):

provides air traffic services to defined standards of safety and performance levels in the upper airspace of Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and the north west of Germany. MUAC provides also its operational and technical know-how to other parts of the Agency for the development and deployment of SESAR. MUAC supports the participating States in establishing the Functional Airspace Block Europe Central (FABEC).

Directorate Network Management:

coordinates network management functions relating both to network planning (airspace design) and operations (ATFCM, AIM) and also to the coordinated pan-European deployment of operational and technical improvements, including those related to SESAR. It provides support to airport activities, it coordinates safety actions and the management of frequencies and scare resources. It also delivers support services to air navigation service providers and FABs (when required) as well as ATM training; finally it monitors the network management contribution to the performance targets of the SES.

Directorate SESAR and Research:

encompasses all the activities delivering EUROCONTROLs agreed contribution to the SESAR Joint Undertaking. It ensures that the Agency ATM research effort is aligned to the SESAR initiatives in accordance with the ATM Master Plan and that the Agency contribution to the SESAR Joint Undertaking Work programme is delivered in a timely, efficient and effective manner.

Directorate Central Route Charges Office:

operates, maintains and develops the Multilateral Route Charges System on behalf of the Member States. In addition, the CRCO operates 18 bilateral agreements for the collection of terminal/communication charges or air navigation charges (of which 4 agreements with non-Member States). In all, the CRCO collects charges on behalf of 43 States.


Total number of flights in Europe: Number of air traffic control centres: Average delay per flight: Air navigation charges billed: 9.49 million flights 68 2.27 minutes 7.4 billion

The activities of these five entities are coordinated by the Principal Director ATM, Bo Redeborn. The corporate processes that support the new organisational structure are managed by the Directorate of Resources headed by the Principal Director Resources, Alberto Varano. The next step in this process of reform will be to work with all its members to ensure that the institutional framework of EUROCONTROL is fit for purpose in view of the changing ATM environment in Europe and its new and potential future roles. To this end, the Provisional Council, with the guidance of the Provisional Council Coordinating Committee, is now embarking on a review of the Organisations institutional and legal framework

BRUSSELS Headquarters Rue de la Fuse 96 B-1130 Brussels Tel: +32 2 729 90 11 Fax: +32 2 729 90 44 MAASTRICHT Maastricht Upper Area Control Centre Horsterweg 11 - NL-6199 AC Maastricht-Airport Tel: +31 43 366 1234 Fax: +31 43 366 1300 BRETIGNY EUROCONTROL Experimental Centre Centre de Bois des Bordes, BP 15 - F-91222 Brtigny sur Orge Tel: +33 1 6988 7500 Fax: +33 1 6988 7505 LUXEMBOURG Institute of Air Navigation Services 12, rue Antoine de Saint-Exupry - L-1432 Luxembourg Tel: +352 4360 611 Fax: +352 4360 615 61

EUROCONTROL Headquarters Rue de la Fuse 96 1130 Brussels, Belgium For more information, please contact: corporate.communications@eurocontrol.int Tel: +32 2 729 34 20 www.eurocontrol.int