Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 2

Switzerland has joined the Schengen Space

What are the changes for holders of a Swiss residence permit?

- 1) From the morning (0:00 am) of December 12th, 2008, all
holders of a Swiss residence permit L, B and C as well as holders
of a “carte de légitimation” can enter the Schengen zone without
visa (short stay only, less than 3 months), whether by terrestrial
or air way.
Concerning the residence permits in process of renewal,
instructions will be given later. For longer stay (more than 3
months) in connection with professionnal, personnal or academic
purposes, a visa is required and an application should be
submitted to the Consulate (see § 7 for appointments).
The travellers should carry their valid Swiss residence permit
along with a valid passport.
- 2) From December 12th, there will be no more controls on
terrestrial borders of Switzerland. The controls (only the controls
and not the necessity of visa for the holders of the titles
mentioned above) remain effective by the air traffic until March
29th, 2009;
- 3) From December 15th, 2008, the embassies and the swiss
consulates abroad will issue Schengen visas which will allow the
holders to circulate within the Schengen zone (of which
Switzerland will be a part) for the duration indicated on the visa.
- 4) The holders of a swiss visa issued before December 15th,
2008, non-resident in Switzerland , will have to apply for a
Schengen visa if they wish to travel in the Schengen countries
(except Switzerland). Their Swiss visa is considered as a limited
territorial validity visa (to Switzerland).
- 5) The foreigners in Liechtenstein subjected to visa will have to
contact the Swiss authorities, in order to obtain Schengen visas.
They have to apply to the Swiss customs of Schaanwald. For some
time, the Principality is not a part of the Schengen zone. For the
time being, the residence permits of Liechtenstein, held by the
foreigners subjected to visa do not allow to circulate in the
Schengen area.
- 6. For the French overseas territories (off the Schengen zone)
such as Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, la Réunion, Saint
Pierre et Miquelon, Saint Martin, Saint Barthelemy, french
Polynesia, New Caledonia and the Territory of Wallis and Futuna
Islands, a French visa is still required. Applications should be
submitted to the French Consulate (for appointments please call :
+41 900 84 72 37).
- 7. Additionnal information can be obtained by calling +41 44
268 85 25 between 11 am and 1pm only, from monday to friday.

Source: http://www.consulatfrance-zurich.org/spip.php?article404