Vous êtes sur la page 1sur 23

Integrative Steps of Learning and Growth

The most well known description of learning domains was developed by Benjamin Bloom. It is known as Blooms Taxonomy

This presentation of the taxonomy of learning domains is heavily dependent on the work of Bloom, as well as others such as R. H. Dave.

Three Major Domains

Cognitive Affective Behavioral

Domain #1: Cognitive

Cognitive refers to thinking. As such, it includes such things as knowledge, understanding, and wisdom.

Domain #2: Affective

Affective refers to feelings. However, it is broader than simply emotions. It includes attitude and values. It also is tied greatly to the social or relational component in the person.

Domain #3: Behavioral

Originally, with Bloom and others, this domain was viewed as psychomotor or hand skills. However, a broader understanding of actions seems valuable here.

Thinking Head

Feeling Heart

Doing Hands

Levels of Learning: Cognitive Domain

1. 2. 3. 4. 5. Recall Comprehension Application Analysis Synthesis

Levels of Learning: Affective Domain

1. 2. 3. 4. 5. Receiving Responding Valuing Organizing Internalizing

Levels of Learning: Behavioral Domain

1. 2. 3. 4. 5. Imitation Manipulation Precision Articulation Naturalization

Two General Thoughts on Levels of Learning

FIRST: The levels are progressive. That is, level 1 is the starting point for each domain, but the goal is to work toward level 5.

Two General Thoughts on Levels of Learning

Second: Most learning ultimately requires the integration of the domains. Education involves changing thoughts, values, and actions.

Integrative Learning is the overlap of the three domains

Rather than focusing on the domains separately, consider a holistic integration of these domains.

Step 1: Intake
Cognitive: Recall (I can remember and repeat back what I was told) Affective: Receive (I am willing to accept, not necessarily agree with, what I am taught) Behavioral. Imitate (I can copy what the teacher is doing.)

Step 2: Grasp
Cognitive: Comprehend (I understand what I am being taught.) Affective: Respond (I value what I am being taught enough to react to it positively or negatively) Behavioral. Manipulate (I can do as long as someone gives me instructions).

Step 3: Use
Cognitive: Application (I can apply my knowledge in new situations) Affective: Value (I find what I learned important to me) Behavioral. Precision (I can create/do without specific instructions)

Step 4: Create
Cognitive: Analysis (I can competently research, analyze, and utilize new learning.) Affective: Organize (I can restructure my life around what I have found to be valuable.) Behavioral: Articulate (I can design and make what is new based on learning and personal experience)

Step 5: Master
Cognitive: Synthesize (I can take learning from many sources and integrate it into new levels of understanding) Affective: Internalize (My learning is now part of me and how I, in part, define myself) Behavioral. Naturalize (I now design/develop/create as a master craftsman as an extension of myself)

Wholistic Growth involves growing physically, mentally, socially, and spiritually. This growth, in all four areas, involves learning in thinking, feeling, and doing.

What would level 6 be?

This should involve integration of physical, social, spiritual, and mental areas of life (they are integrated anyway it is we who divide them up).

What should level 6 be like.

Some characteristics could be: -Evaluation. (Ability to judge competently) -Replication. (Desire to pass on and develop his learning to others) -Innovation. (Develop new creations that integrate different areas of life)